We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown trouthis teamother guestsnew zealandsouth islandguided fishingfishing experiencegreat fishingdays fishingfantastic experiencefirst ratebrowniemeals preparedspent days
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

I loved loved my stay here . Felix and his staff were super friendly and generous. The lodge is beautifully homely at the same time as being functional and stylish. The guide that I had was fab. It was a faultless stay. Thanks Felix and the team. Xxx hannah

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hannahnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

My wife and I recently returned from a spectacular 5 week visit to New Zealand capped off with a 3 night stay at Owen River Lodge. In planning our trip, my wife (a Trip Advisor review reading junkie) wanted to end our journey with a luxury resort accommodation experience. My agenda was to sneak in a little guided fishing for elusive NZ trophy brown trout I grew up reading and dreaming so much about. Based on the reviews, it was easy to steer her to Owen River Lodge.

No need to repeat all the positive reviews which helped me. Just read them yourself. Every superlative concerning the setting, amenities, facilities, gourmet cuisine, hospitality and attention to detail proved just as described. Surprisingly, what far exceeded my expectations, however, was our fishing experience.

When booking, I told Felix we would be travelling with no fishing gear and warned him that my wife had never fly fished and I had very limited experience. His response, “No problem, we will take care of everything!” Given our limitations, I was honestly skeptical and hoping just to enjoy some solitary river fishing with spectacular scenery and, with a little luck, perhaps hook up a nice fish or two.

Shortly after our arrival and settling in, Kylie had us outfitted with top line fishing gear followed by some patient fly fishing instruction on the front lawn. I fished the next two days, one of which accompanied by my wife. The net result… thanks basically to some impressive patience and the amazing knowledge, skills and expertise of our professional guides David and Paul, I managed to land and release eight beautiful brownies! More significant, however, my wife absolutely loved the experience and managed to catch & release a real beauty entirely on her own! With what I have been listening to ever since, you can no longer convince me that bragging and telling fish stories is just a “man” thing. Thanks Felix & company!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our group, from Japan and Guam, had flyfishing experience from none to expert and we all had a wonderful time. Food, accommodations are all first rate. No better guides anywhere. Felix even let us play the blues at the Lodge one night. Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

From the moment you arrive you know you are in a very special place.
Having fished quite a bit in the US and staying at what I thought were nice places, this lodge is a whole new level.
Felix and his staff are nothing short of fabulous! The rooms are absolutely immaculate and beautiful with a view you have see to believe.
The meals are off the chart good prepared by great chefs, Jo and Ryan wowed us each evening with wonderful food and wine.
Our guide David was not only a great guide but a joy to spend the day with.
My wife had never been to a fishing lodge before and I will never be able to top this one.
Thanks to everyone at Owen River Lodge for a memory to last a life time
We will be back again.
Marshall and Cathy
Tucson, Arizona

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

After travelling the world for over 40 years nothing comes close to "Owen River Lodge"
Felix and his team delivered way above expectation on all fronts.
The food, accommodation, location and the warm environment provided a sensational holiday experience.
Fishing the local waters provided trout over 5lbs regularly and even produced 11.25lb for one of the guests.
I cannot wait to get back and enjoy the family atmosphere of the lodge where nothing is a problem for the host.

Room Tip: All Suites are perfect
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _oconnellgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews