We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I spent the last week of March at Owen River Lodge and it exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautiful, the location wonderful and relaxing, and the rooms are outstanding. They even provide fresh baked cookies in the rooms every day and the small refrig is well stocked. Felix and his staff are dedicated to providing a top nitch experience. I have fished many places all over the world, but the food and service here are one of the top places I have been. Guides are excellent, quite patient, and really fun to spend the day with. They enjoy themselves as much as the guest. Fishing in New Zealand has been called the 'top of the pyramid' of fresh water fly fishing, and rightly so. I was humbled a couple of days, but every day was special; this is a place where you learn volumes about fly fishing. In addition, one gets to meet quite a variety of other guests from all over the world. You simply can't go wrong spending time here.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidamoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

I loved loved my stay here . Felix and his staff were super friendly and generous. The lodge is beautifully homely at the same time as being functional and stylish. The guide that I had was fab. It was a faultless stay. Thanks Felix and the team. Xxx hannah

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hannahnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

My wife and I recently returned from a spectacular 5 week visit to New Zealand capped off with a 3 night stay at Owen River Lodge. In planning our trip, my wife (a Trip Advisor review reading junkie) wanted to end our journey with a luxury resort accommodation experience. My agenda was to sneak in a little guided fishing for elusive NZ trophy brown trout I grew up reading and dreaming so much about. Based on the reviews, it was easy to steer her to Owen River Lodge.

No need to repeat all the positive reviews which helped me. Just read them yourself. Every superlative concerning the setting, amenities, facilities, gourmet cuisine, hospitality and attention to detail proved just as described. Surprisingly, what far exceeded my expectations, however, was our fishing experience.

When booking, I told Felix we would be travelling with no fishing gear and warned him that my wife had never fly fished and I had very limited experience. His response, “No problem, we will take care of everything!” Given our limitations, I was honestly skeptical and hoping just to enjoy some solitary river fishing with spectacular scenery and, with a little luck, perhaps hook up a nice fish or two.

Shortly after our arrival and settling in, Kylie had us outfitted with top line fishing gear followed by some patient fly fishing instruction on the front lawn. I fished the next two days, one of which accompanied by my wife. The net result… thanks basically to some impressive patience and the amazing knowledge, skills and expertise of our professional guides David and Paul, I managed to land and release eight beautiful brownies! More significant, however, my wife absolutely loved the experience and managed to catch & release a real beauty entirely on her own! With what I have been listening to ever since, you can no longer convince me that bragging and telling fish stories is just a “man” thing. Thanks Felix & company!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our group, from Japan and Guam, had flyfishing experience from none to expert and we all had a wonderful time. Food, accommodations are all first rate. No better guides anywhere. Felix even let us play the blues at the Lodge one night. Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordoflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

From the moment you arrive you know you are in a very special place.
Having fished quite a bit in the US and staying at what I thought were nice places, this lodge is a whole new level.
Felix and his staff are nothing short of fabulous! The rooms are absolutely immaculate and beautiful with a view you have see to believe.
The meals are off the chart good prepared by great chefs, Jo and Ryan wowed us each evening with wonderful food and wine.
Our guide David was not only a great guide but a joy to spend the day with.
My wife had never been to a fishing lodge before and I will never be able to top this one.
Thanks to everyone at Owen River Lodge for a memory to last a life time
We will be back again.
Marshall and Cathy
Tucson, Arizona

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
62 reviews
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
55 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 km away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
61 reviews
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price Range: $700 - $1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing