We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brown Trout in New Zealand!”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Owen River Lodge is truly a piece of paradise. My son, husband & I arrived a couple of days after Christmas(summertime here) and were welcomed very graciously by the owner, Felix, and his fabulous staff including the superb hostess, Kylie and the best golden retriever ever, Keeley. Chef Jo cooked an awesome 3 course dinner with accompanying wines for us and we were off to our super comfy cabin with uber comfortable beds for the evening. Early am, guys and I were up for a cooked to order breakfast by Chef Ryan and then they met their fishing guide, Pete. Pete grew up 3min from the lodge so knows these waters inside and out. He took the guys on about a 45 min truck ride away and then they fished for giant, brown trout. They had a super successful day and loved fishing with Pete and his knowledge and expertise on the river. While the guys fished all day, I enjoyed myself by exploring the Owen River with Keeley, the golden retrevier. She took me on quite the adventure. It took me a while to navigate the rocks along the river but after finding a large walking stick, I was able to keep up and we hiked for about 2 hours along the river. I was served a great late lunch at the lodge and then went back down by the water to some giant bean bags to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and a good book. The gardens on the property of Owen River Lodge are really unique and I filled my iPhone with beautiful pictures of the unique plants and can't wait to frame some for some upcoming Bday and Christmas gifts. When the guys returned we had a toast and beer with Pete, the staff and met some of the other guests of the lodge. The guys showered and changed to super casual clothing and we went back to the lodge for an another awesome 3 course dinner prepared by Chef Ryan. All of the other guests staying at the lodge were all brought to this special place by the love of fly fishing and it was really fun and interesting to meet everyone at dinner and learn their stories and experiences. We cannot wait to travel back to Owen River Lodge and fish and relax again. Thanks to Felix for such a wonderful week! Cheers!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 days at Owen river lodge and will be definitely returning. Can't recommend more highly, beautiful place, fantastic people and great fishing. Dinner times tend to run on into the night socialising with the other guests which is great fun but easy to drink too much wine.

Simon and Kate, Dunedin

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank simonfrancismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Felix and Kylie warmly welcome you into what feels like home, and offers top drawer accommodations from the early morning breakfasts to A+ evening meals! They work hard to help out everyone's special needs, like my dietary restrictions. They made delicious meals without a problem! Fishing guides shepherd beginners to expert fishermen and women through very technical and athletic Brown Trout fishing on any number of the magnificent rivers close to the Lodge. The guides are fun, competent and always challenging. The Lodge has everything for every need, so you do not have to fuss over packing. Just come and relax, take in the tranquility of this setting, trek through lush and rugged terrain, drink a variety of New Zealand wines, munch on home made cookies and sleep in the most comfortable bed ever! I will be a repeat customer!!! Thanks to Felix and Kylie and all of the staff at Owen River Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms in the cottages have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lcw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

From the moment we entered the stunning beauty of the property, we knew this was going to be a special place. There are 3 cabins with 2 suites, each with their own entrance and porch where you can sit and enjoy the Owen River and mountains beyond. The rooms are spacious and impeccably clean with a large bathroom, great shower and towel warmer. Each room has its own minibar, french press coffee maker with daily fresh ground coffee & homemade cookies! A very well stocked bar and great NZ wines served in their lounge and all meals in the lodge. The food is superb – so don’t expect or even try to diet. Upon arrival, a spread of appetizers and drinks were offered by the gracious and caring hosts, Felix & Kylie. They attend to your every needs and go out of their way to make sure the guest are comfortable, cared for and well fed. If you forget anything – Felix probably has something that will work. I can’t say enough to complement them on their wonderful lodge, attention to detail and warmth in making guest feel relaxed and ‘at home’.

As for fishing needs…. unless you’re emotionally attached to your boots, waders & rods, I wouldn’t bother to bring them. Felix’s fishing cabin is stocked with the latest Simms waders & boots and a variety of rods! Going through customs with used boots was a significant time delay and hassle – why go through that when he has it all! Fishing was as technical and challenging as we’ve heard but still able to catch some beautiful & large browns and you cannot match the splendor of the NZ landscape and wildflowers. All in all, I trip that is forever etched into our memories and a place to return to hopefully in the near future!

Room Tip: All rooms in cottages have spectacular views. Lodge room -no view but still nice & quiet. Reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rirvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I just returned from a 3-day stay at the Owen River Lodge. It was spectacular, and even a short stay easily qualifies as a trip of a lifetime. The accommodations are impeccable--comfortable, spotless, beautiful but not pretentious, and maximally suited to the stunning environmental landscape—there are covered porches outside rooms where you would be perfectly content sitting for hours because of the scenery and the sight and sound of the river. The Owen River itself is a famous fishery and even when not guided you can try your luck at any hour of your stay. The guides relish the fishery and fiercely protect it. They sight the fish and teach you everything you are willing to learn about catching smart big fish (survivors). I have trout fished once-a-month in southern Missouri (USA) for about a decade—each of the eight fish I caught (having missed or lost twice as many because of bad technique) was bigger than any trout I have ever caught (all 4-6 lbs.; 7, 8, and 9 lb. fish were all caught by other guests during the short time I was there). The guides across the region communicate with one another every morning such that everyone who is fishing is spread out across the numerous rivers and streams in the region. I was there on a beautiful weekend in late spring and did not see a single human on any stretch of river I fished.

Felix the proprietor and his team bend over backwards to ensure that each guest has what they need to make the most of the experience; they are PRESENT throughout the social elements of the stay (eg. meals and when you are spending time about the property on an unguided day)—they are consummate hosts, entertaining, and extremely knowledgeable about the region and its recreational opportunities. When they supply whatever gear you need (no extra cost) it is the best gear on the market (waders, boots, fly rods). If you ask them to arrange for a transport to or from the airport or another region, you will get a driver who could double as a tour guide. They manage every case of jet lag and “own” that as part of their job. Throughout your stay, the main lodge which is their own living quarters, is your living room, dining room, and reading room. Most of all, they create opportunity (if you want it) to make the most of brief intersections of lives of the 10-16 people who are staying at the lodge at any given time; this typically happens at breakfast or happy hour or dinner every evening. I crossed paths with a physician who spent a career in outreach medicine in the wilds of Australia, a navy chaplain, a successful restauranteur, creators of businesses, a triathlete couple, and a man who willed his way through a level of rheumatoid arthritis that made doctors doubt he could walk let alone fish, let alone peruse miles of rocky river shoreline stalking trout. These are the intangibles that I will remember most and that MADE the trip, completely unexpected value-added, along with the truly stunning New Zealand scenery, and, of course….the enormous trout.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
62 reviews
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
55 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 km away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
61 reviews
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price Range: $707 - $1,125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing