We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2016

Having just returned from ORL for my third season of fishing there, I can only reaffirm that this place is fabulous! Felix remains the absolute star, advising on my angling trips before reaching ORL, and entertains and informs when I get there.

The catering and facilities as ever, especially chef Ryan, make the guests feel special and pampered, particularly to soothe the aches and pains after a day out for my unfit frame . The cabins are luxurious, and quiet. The main house provides a great place to interact with fellow guests, and Felix carefully seats people to ensure everyone mixes each day with someone new.

The guides provide superb support for the fishing. The friendly rivalry each day kept me giggling all the way through. After a stellar performance last year, I was able to relax this year, with brown trout up to 6.5 lbs, and a tremendous variety of waters to fish, some new for me and some old favourites. This year my guide treated me to some amazing upstream dryfly, my lifelong passion. A real treat!

As I mentioned previously this is serious fishing. Physically and mentally demanding. There are, however, things to do on rest days, such as walking, horse riding, shopping expeditions etc, for the non-purist (not for me!)

The opportunity to heli-fish again in the back country was amazing. This is real wilderness fishing, but with the certainty of getting back for a superb dinner at the end of the day. What is there not to like?

Have tentatively booked already for next year!!!

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblebl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
105
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2016

We stayed recently at the Owen River Lodge during a 3 week fishing/sight seeing trip to New Zealand. It was the highlight of our trip! This is a fist class operation. The accomodations, food, friendly staff and fishing were very high quality. This is a beautiful setting with access to a number of great streams. Because the lodge only caters to a small number of guests, there is attention paid in a very detailed way. Felix is a wonderful host. We stayed at a number of different venues and this was clearly the class of the field! We are returning next year!
Bruce and Christie Copeland
Bozeman, Montana
USA

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bccopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2016

The perfect way to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Five Star Everything.
Felix met us at the car upon our arrival and up until the moment we left he did nothing but make sure we had the most amazing 5 night holiday.
The accommodation, the view, the fishing, the guides, the service, the food and even the weather were nothing short of outstanding.
The surprise 'Trout' birthday cake along with candles was an absolute ultimate end to what was the best birthday ever.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CathyLee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2016

A truly remarkable experience. After recovering from the jet lag and recapping our trip to NZ, we were in total agreement - that our time at Owen River Lodge was hands down the BEST part of our trip. Our only regret is not staying at ORL longer! Felix is the most gracious host, Ryan's cuisine was out of this WORLD (best food in NZ), the accommodations were luxurious and just what we needed after the long days fishing/trekking, Aaron was an outstanding guide and our experience wouldn't have been the same with out him. He put us in excellent positions to catch plenty of 6 lb and up browns (including a 9 1/2 lb monster). Then you have sweet Keeley dog!! She cannot be overlooked. What a joy to see her sweet face everyday. A huge thank you to Felix, from the bottom of our hearts, for being exactly who you are and for fostering what will go down as one of our most treasured memories. We are already looking at dates for our next visit and can’t wait to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

Owen River Lodge. I seriously cannot say enough about our stay there. It was absolute perfection! When we pulled in we were greeted by Felix and we were shown to our room, which has a large picture window with a gorgeous view. Rooms/cabins are spacious and have comfortable beds, large bathroom, sitting area inside and outside. Snacks and drinks (happy hour) begin at 5:00 before dinner and it's fun to mingle with the other guests and chef as well. Dinner is served promptly at 7/7:30 and is a 3 course delight! Breakfast and lunch are also provided; breakfast includes bacon, toast and eggs cooked to order as well as delicious variations of caffeine. Lunch can be a picnic lunch if you're fishing for the day or taking a day trip around the area as well. Keeley, the lodge dog loves to play fetch with a tennis ball and also walk around the lodge with you. If you need laundry completed that will also be done for you as well. My husband had a blast fly fishing for a day with one of the guides; caught a 6 incher and was stoked. Felix provides a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious experience. Absolutely spoils you!!! Thank you so much!

Stayed November 2015
Helpful?
Thank COGlobeTrotter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
35.0 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price range (per night): $682 - $1,086
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing