We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Murchison Lodge(Murchison)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoonfantastic experience
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We stayed recently at the Owen River Lodge during a 3 week fishing/sight seeing trip to New Zealand. It was the highlight of our trip! This is a fist class operation. The accomodations, food, friendly staff and fishing were very high quality. This is a beautiful setting with access to a number of great streams. Because the lodge only caters to a small number of guests, there is attention paid in a very detailed way. Felix is a wonderful host. We stayed at a number of different venues and this was clearly the class of the field! We are returning next year!
Bruce and Christie Copeland
Bozeman, Montana
USA

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bccopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The perfect way to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Five Star Everything.
Felix met us at the car upon our arrival and up until the moment we left he did nothing but make sure we had the most amazing 5 night holiday.
The accommodation, the view, the fishing, the guides, the service, the food and even the weather were nothing short of outstanding.
The surprise 'Trout' birthday cake along with candles was an absolute ultimate end to what was the best birthday ever.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CathyLee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

A truly remarkable experience. After recovering from the jet lag and recapping our trip to NZ, we were in total agreement - that our time at Owen River Lodge was hands down the BEST part of our trip. Our only regret is not staying at ORL longer! Felix is the most gracious host, Ryan's cuisine was out of this WORLD (best food in NZ), the accommodations were luxurious and just what we needed after the long days fishing/trekking, Aaron was an outstanding guide and our experience wouldn't have been the same with out him. He put us in excellent positions to catch plenty of 6 lb and up browns (including a 9 1/2 lb monster). Then you have sweet Keeley dog!! She cannot be overlooked. What a joy to see her sweet face everyday. A huge thank you to Felix, from the bottom of our hearts, for being exactly who you are and for fostering what will go down as one of our most treasured memories. We are already looking at dates for our next visit and can’t wait to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Owen River Lodge. I seriously cannot say enough about our stay there. It was absolute perfection! When we pulled in we were greeted by Felix and we were shown to our room, which has a large picture window with a gorgeous view. Rooms/cabins are spacious and have comfortable beds, large bathroom, sitting area inside and outside. Snacks and drinks (happy hour) begin at 5:00 before dinner and it's fun to mingle with the other guests and chef as well. Dinner is served promptly at 7/7:30 and is a 3 course delight! Breakfast and lunch are also provided; breakfast includes bacon, toast and eggs cooked to order as well as delicious variations of caffeine. Lunch can be a picnic lunch if you're fishing for the day or taking a day trip around the area as well. Keeley, the lodge dog loves to play fetch with a tennis ball and also walk around the lodge with you. If you need laundry completed that will also be done for you as well. My husband had a blast fly fishing for a day with one of the guides; caught a 6 incher and was stoked. Felix provides a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious experience. Absolutely spoils you!!! Thank you so much!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank COGlobeTrotter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

The Owen River Lodge is the perfect combination of 5 Star and comfortable. The lodge is nestled along the picturesque Owen River, surrounded by lush green hills and, of course, sheep! The six bungalows are spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast and dinner are served at the huge dining table in the lodge, so it is a great opportunity to mingle with and get to know the other guests. Our chef, Ryan, created beautiful multi-course dinners every evening, and wine was included. He also prepared breakfast and lunch. The owner of the Owen River Lodge, Felix, is a fantastic host. He made sure everyone had a special time...those who went fly fishing as well as those of us who stayed behind at the lodge. He arranged massages, wine tasting trips, bike rides, etc. One of my favorite parts of my stay was Felix's dog, Keeley, a yellow lab. She was great company to those of us at the lodge during the day while our partners fished. I whole-heartedly recommend The Owen River Lodge and look forward to returning again one day!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews