We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury accommodations. Monster brown trout.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Luxury accommodations. Monster brown trout.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2016

A truly remarkable experience. After recovering from the jet lag and recapping our trip to NZ, we were in total agreement - that our time at Owen River Lodge was hands down the BEST part of our trip. Our only regret is not staying at ORL longer! Felix is the most gracious host, Ryan's cuisine was out of this WORLD (best food in NZ), the accommodations were luxurious and just what we needed after the long days fishing/trekking, Aaron was an outstanding guide and our experience wouldn't have been the same with out him. He put us in excellent positions to catch plenty of 6 lb and up browns (including a 9 1/2 lb monster). Then you have sweet Keeley dog!! She cannot be overlooked. What a joy to see her sweet face everyday. A huge thank you to Felix, from the bottom of our hearts, for being exactly who you are and for fostering what will go down as one of our most treasured memories. We are already looking at dates for our next visit and can’t wait to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
105
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

Owen River Lodge. I seriously cannot say enough about our stay there. It was absolute perfection! When we pulled in we were greeted by Felix and we were shown to our room, which has a large picture window with a gorgeous view. Rooms/cabins are spacious and have comfortable beds, large bathroom, sitting area inside and outside. Snacks and drinks (happy hour) begin at 5:00 before dinner and it's fun to mingle with the other guests and chef as well. Dinner is served promptly at 7/7:30 and is a 3 course delight! Breakfast and lunch are also provided; breakfast includes bacon, toast and eggs cooked to order as well as delicious variations of caffeine. Lunch can be a picnic lunch if you're fishing for the day or taking a day trip around the area as well. Keeley, the lodge dog loves to play fetch with a tennis ball and also walk around the lodge with you. If you need laundry completed that will also be done for you as well. My husband had a blast fly fishing for a day with one of the guides; caught a 6 incher and was stoked. Felix provides a wonderful, relaxing and luxurious experience. Absolutely spoils you!!! Thank you so much!

Stayed November 2015
Helpful?
Thank COGlobeTrotter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2016

The Owen River Lodge is the perfect combination of 5 Star and comfortable. The lodge is nestled along the picturesque Owen River, surrounded by lush green hills and, of course, sheep! The six bungalows are spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast and dinner are served at the huge dining table in the lodge, so it is a great opportunity to mingle with and get to know the other guests. Our chef, Ryan, created beautiful multi-course dinners every evening, and wine was included. He also prepared breakfast and lunch. The owner of the Owen River Lodge, Felix, is a fantastic host. He made sure everyone had a special time...those who went fly fishing as well as those of us who stayed behind at the lodge. He arranged massages, wine tasting trips, bike rides, etc. One of my favorite parts of my stay was Felix's dog, Keeley, a yellow lab. She was great company to those of us at the lodge during the day while our partners fished. I whole-heartedly recommend The Owen River Lodge and look forward to returning again one day!

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2016

Felix, you are the perfect host of New Zealand's best fly fishing lodge! Relaxed, understated yet sophisticated and luxurious.
Of course, the fishing is simply outstanding with a huge number of drive to and heli rivers to fish.
I was very impressed with Owen River Lodge and will return with my wife.
Micah Adams
host- Adventure Angler TV series

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015

I cannot imagine having a better time. Every detail at Owens River Lodge is perfect. Simple elegance, great showers, all the amenities, lovely towels, FANTASTIC food and all the beer and wine you can drink. The house wine was also one of my favorite New Zealand wines - Neurdorf. The view from our cottage is breathtaking and so calm it made me want to do yoga right on the lawn.Felix the owner is a fantastic host. He is a funny guy that mingles and mixes well with the guests. Enough about the lodge - the fly fishing was fabulous. I had a fantastic guide - Pete Carty. He spotted fish I would never have seen and coached me through landing them when I hooked into them. I was able to catch 2 5lb Brown trout and another smaller but gorgeous rainbow. I am not that proficient at Fly Fishing so this was a great accomplishment for me! We walked a lot ! This is not a trip for you if you are not in shape or at least strong hiker.The rivers and scenery are among the most beautiful I have ever encountered. - Felix does a great job finding fantastic guides and an oasis of luxury when you return from your long day fishing. Fly fishing is a great way to see New Zealand. I highly recommend the Owens River Lodge

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabininfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
35.0 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price range (per night): $682 - $1,086
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing