We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$103
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Saint Arnaud)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
262
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classattention to detailfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2015

My husband booked our stay here for the world-class brown trout fishing and wasn't disappointed. Felix and his staff and guides are expert at what they do. I (a non-fisher) was pleasantly surprised by everything else that the lodge had to offer. The rooms were beautifully simple and well appointed with all the amenities you expect from a 1st class resort including original artwork. The views of Kahurangi Park from your porch are spectacular as well as the bird watching. There is a hot tub, mountain bikes and plenty of countryside to explore with Keely the resident dog. Chef Ryan prepared delicious gourmet meals and great local beer and wine flowed freely. If we find ourselves in New Zealand again we will definitely return.

Room Tip: They are all great, can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cbhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Felix, the owner, has a wonderful dry sense of humor, but takes his property and what New Zealand fishing has to offer very seriously! A beautiful camp site, 6 very comfortable cottages, incredible vistas, experienced fishing guides with some of the best brown trout nature has to offer, exquisite dining topped off by some of New Zealand's great wines. A must do and we cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My advice to any passionate fly fisherman keen to hunt & catch huge brown trout in superb condition, in crystal clear beautiful rivers flowing through magnificent scenic countryside ... look no further ... treat yourself to at least a week at the Owen River Lodge and endulge yourself in excellent accommodation, fine food and wine and superb service provided by the owner Felix Borenstein and his great staff ... and after you've experienced Owen River Lodge, no doubt like me, you will be counting the days to your next trip !! ... it just cannot come quick enough !!

Room Tip: "All the rooms are EXCELLENT, not just good"
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

With all the troubles in the world- one needs to get away and recharge the batteries and connect with ones inner self. Owen River Lodge is the place. Trekking in the pristine rivers, guided by people who love the environment and are expert in sight fishing, for those monster trout is an experience I will never forget and I look forward to coming back.
Felix has an eye for detail and all things good, including wine, food and people,
Slim

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Felix has created the ultimate in fishing accommodation and fishing experience. The lodge accommodation and dining are an experience in themselves, appropriately comfortable and slightly understated which says everything, Ryan's fresh and interesting approach to food was very much appreciated by all.
The fishing was the best I have experienced in NZ certainly without the tuition and professionalism of our guides we would have found the fishing very challenging.
We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked another 5 days next year. Owen River Lodge is magic well done Felix

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Nicholas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews