We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in every possible way-a sweet slice of heaven on NZ’s South Island”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 December 2015

It’s such a treat when literally every aspect of an experience exceeds one’s expectations. Owen River Lodge is that and more. Proprietor Felix Borenstein offers accommodations, cuisine, décor, and a setting that are richly and deeply satisfying. On top of that there’s The Fishing—why most folks come here. It is, in fact, the stuff of legends. Epic water, outstanding guides, and the fish themselves—gorgeous beasts they are. We are complete devotees after a 5-day visit. Thank you, thank you Felix for enhancing our lives so deliciously!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveSmithPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Owen River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2015

My husband booked our stay here for the world-class brown trout fishing and wasn't disappointed. Felix and his staff and guides are expert at what they do. I (a non-fisher) was pleasantly surprised by everything else that the lodge had to offer. The rooms were beautifully simple and well appointed with all the amenities you expect from a 1st class resort including original artwork. The views of Kahurangi Park from your porch are spectacular as well as the bird watching. There is a hot tub, mountain bikes and plenty of countryside to explore with Keely the resident dog. Chef Ryan prepared delicious gourmet meals and great local beer and wine flowed freely. If we find ourselves in New Zealand again we will definitely return.

Room Tip: They are all great, can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cbhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Felix, the owner, has a wonderful dry sense of humor, but takes his property and what New Zealand fishing has to offer very seriously! A beautiful camp site, 6 very comfortable cottages, incredible vistas, experienced fishing guides with some of the best brown trout nature has to offer, exquisite dining topped off by some of New Zealand's great wines. A must do and we cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My advice to any passionate fly fisherman keen to hunt & catch huge brown trout in superb condition, in crystal clear beautiful rivers flowing through magnificent scenic countryside ... look no further ... treat yourself to at least a week at the Owen River Lodge and endulge yourself in excellent accommodation, fine food and wine and superb service provided by the owner Felix Borenstein and his great staff ... and after you've experienced Owen River Lodge, no doubt like me, you will be counting the days to your next trip !! ... it just cannot come quick enough !!

Room Tip: "All the rooms are EXCELLENT, not just good"
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

With all the troubles in the world- one needs to get away and recharge the batteries and connect with ones inner self. Owen River Lodge is the place. Trekking in the pristine rivers, guided by people who love the environment and are expert in sight fishing, for those monster trout is an experience I will never forget and I look forward to coming back.
Felix has an eye for detail and all things good, including wine, food and people,
Slim

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
35.0 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
239 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
18.0 km away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price Range: $671 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing