We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly fishing for huge wild browns at its best !!”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
“Fly fishing for huge wild browns at its best !!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My advice to any passionate fly fisherman keen to hunt & catch huge brown trout in superb condition, in crystal clear beautiful rivers flowing through magnificent scenic countryside ... look no further ... treat yourself to at least a week at the Owen River Lodge and endulge yourself in excellent accommodation, fine food and wine and superb service provided by the owner Felix Borenstein and his great staff ... and after you've experienced Owen River Lodge, no doubt like me, you will be counting the days to your next trip !! ... it just cannot come quick enough !!

Room Tip: "All the rooms are EXCELLENT, not just good"
See more room tips
Green Features: The owner Felix Borenstein has given much thought on the Lodge's environmentally - friendly practices - home grown fruit & vegetables for instance - wonderful !!
  • Stayed November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
108
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2015

With all the troubles in the world- one needs to get away and recharge the batteries and connect with ones inner self. Owen River Lodge is the place. Trekking in the pristine rivers, guided by people who love the environment and are expert in sight fishing, for those monster trout is an experience I will never forget and I look forward to coming back.
Felix has an eye for detail and all things good, including wine, food and people,
Slim

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Felix has created the ultimate in fishing accommodation and fishing experience. The lodge accommodation and dining are an experience in themselves, appropriately comfortable and slightly understated which says everything, Ryan's fresh and interesting approach to food was very much appreciated by all.
The fishing was the best I have experienced in NZ certainly without the tuition and professionalism of our guides we would have found the fishing very challenging.
We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked another 5 days next year. Owen River Lodge is magic well done Felix

Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Yes, It was raining when we arrived but this did not deter Felix (lodge owner) from transferring our luggage from the car into our lovely, spotlessly clean, cottage overlooking the Owen River. What a fantastic aspect to spend the next few days.
We were not disappointed, the amenities certainly lived up to all our expectations. The hospitality we could not have wished for any more including the culinary service.

To top it off as it was my birthday Felix had arranged a fantastic cake in the shape of a trout, iced to look like the local brown trout. What a surprise to be presented with at dinner to share with other guests with common interests.

The next day the day was clear, ideal for first time anglers. Our Guide was so patient and Peter taught my wife and I to first cast on the grass before heading off in our waders to fish the Tutaki River. Both of us were not expecting to hook a trout but to our surprise we both hooked two trout each........but don't you hate it when your wife lands the first!

We had a fantastic time and will return.

Thank you Felix and your professional team.
Steve & Dallas

Room Tip: They all have the same layout with privacy from others
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling facility with appropriate soft lighting to suit the environment.
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I fly fish in New Zealand a few times a year. From Melbourne Australia it is easy to get there. Airfares are very reasonable and the flight is under 4 hours. This year I decided to visit Owen River Lodge again. Its hard to keep away given that that Lodge is the best 5 star lodge in NZ. Five star however normally means that the establishment ticks all the required boxes to achieve its rating. With Owen River Lodge it really does go beyond the required criteria. The service here is personalised and intuitive. The atmosphere and lodge is intimate, relaxed and luxurious. The food really is deserving of major accolades. It is fresh, innovative, balanced and at times euphoric. Being a foodie I almost look forward to the cuisine as much as the tremendous fishing. The other thing that sets ORL apart is that the owner, Felix Borenstine employs the best fishing guides in the region. These guys know their stuff. They know not only were the fish are but which rivers are best to fish at any given time. Last season various clients caught fish between 10 lb and just under 13 lb. Staggering sizes and evidence that the areas and rivers immediate to ORL really do offer the best sighted brown trout fishing in the world. I decided to visit early this year, just after season opening. Most fly fishermen prefer the warmer peak months but I can attest that early fishing is fantastic and best of all there are not many other fishermen around and the trout a little less wary. Thank you Felix for another trip that was again beyond expectations, beyond 5 starts both for the service/wonderful accommodation and the fishing. Cant wait to come back ! Max

Room Tip: All rooms are large and luxuriouos, they are all equally excellent
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco friendly and aware low carbon footprint, very environmentally aware.
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiirstdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
35.0 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
235 reviews
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
18.0 km away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
37.9 km away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price range (per night): $673 - $1,071
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing