We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
519kathyH
Melbourne, Australia
Undoubtedly the best week
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jun 2014
I am new to fly fishing but my husband convinced me that this would be the best time ever .. So I thought Oh OK I will tag along and make the most of it. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Felix our host and owner and taken to our lodge - it was truly a wonderful surprise so well fitted out, cozy and the amenities were just perfect right down to the great freshly ground coffee and home made biscuits. Ill talk about the food first ... Breakfast yum and home cooked to your liking - dinners were to die for .... we stayed a week and every night there was a different sumptuous 3 course meal utilizing local produce, beautifully plated and we were never hungry. Lets not forget the wines - an extensive wine list with many local wines. Ryan and Jo truly are masters in their field of cooking and presentation. Now about the fishing - the lodge has available any gear that you may not have brought with you and we had a personal guide for our time (Peter) who was extremely patient and so very knowledgeable, he took us to some spectacular places that were pristine and boy could he spot a fish. We had such a wonderful time and yes we did catch trout the biggest being nearly 6 pounds. The lodge is situated in gorgeous surrounds and a river runs below beckoning one to stroll around this lovely countryside. If you are looking for a beautiful retreat even if you don't fish make it your base and you will not regret it.
Date of stay: November 2013
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Buller River ... 2min walk away for all your river activities.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
18.1 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Park grounds set in stunning rural New Zealand
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
Lazy place..
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool area
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
38.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Murchison Adventure
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
18.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Murchison
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After many years of trying to get to Owen River Lodge - 2014 was to be the year for us.
What a superb way to celebrate our wedding anniversary with my super keen fishing husband. Felix & the team bend over backwards to ensure your stay is everything you dreamed of & more. The accommodation is beautiful, with the luxurious cottages, peace & serenity of the setting & sensational food. We highly recommend you make a point of staying at this Fabulous destination -I know we will be returning again real soon

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNeills123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am one of the women who enjoyed Felix's hospitality on the Casting for Recovery weekend. Owen River Lodge is a peaceful haven in a beautiful location, but its also fun, thanks to Felix's lively personality. My room was spacious and comfortable, the food was amazing and the host really special. The grounds are really nice and they match the locality beautifully. My fishing guide was very patient (he needed to be) but also really helpful and generous with his tips and tuition. I hope to return to Owen River Lodge one day, to fish the river and eat the food, relax in the spa and to just sit and be in such a special place

Room tip: All the rooms are similar and lovely, but room 6 doesn't get people walking by your window
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feather6041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I attended Owen River Lodge as part of the CFR Program. An amazing weekend, i wouldn't have wanted to miss.
Felix, your hospitality to all of us was truly outstanding, THANKYOU so much for hosting us.
Ryan and Jo, your food was amazing, Master Chef, eat your heart out.
Wonderful surroundings, breathtaking views, extremely comfortable cottages, what more could we want.
OH, and the fishing and guides an amazing experience, once in a lifetime when everything comes together in one place.
Also thanks to Keely, for canine entertainment.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Felix very kindly allowed us to take over his fishing lodge for a weekend. He welcomed us into his home and ensured that we were well cared for and attended to our every need with excellent food and refreshments throughout our stay. The lodge rooms are set in the landscaped garden and are very comfortable, stylish and meet every need. The lodge had several quiet areas to escape to, to collect your thoughts and enjoy the peace and the scenery - my favorite was the spa pool with views over the river - even the odd shower of rain did not put a damper on things. The fishing guides were incredibly patient and knowledgeable, and have probably inspired a few of us to make fishing a new hobby.
Thank you Felix, for an amazing weekend.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMJA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for my partner's 50th birthday and our visit could not have been more perfect. Each cottage suite is immaculate, comfortable and spacious, with a shower to die for. The view from your veranda is truly breathtaking and the lodge has its own access to the river, either to fish or to sit in the sun reading on the deck with the lodge labrador Keely as I did.
What makes the lodge truly special is Felix's genuine warm hospitality. Nothing is too much to ask, including supplying a very special fish shaped birthday cake! The atmosphere is very relaxed and everything is geared around making your stay as wonderful as possible. For us, the food is always very important and we were certainly not disappointed. Chef Ryan is definitely destined for greatness!
A true gem and I wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 107helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews