We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$101
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$101
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alpine Lodge(Saint Arnaud)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
262
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classattention to detailfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I attended Owen River Lodge as part of the CFR Program. An amazing weekend, i wouldn't have wanted to miss.
Felix, your hospitality to all of us was truly outstanding, THANKYOU so much for hosting us.
Ryan and Jo, your food was amazing, Master Chef, eat your heart out.
Wonderful surroundings, breathtaking views, extremely comfortable cottages, what more could we want.
OH, and the fishing and guides an amazing experience, once in a lifetime when everything comes together in one place.
Also thanks to Keely, for canine entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Felix very kindly allowed us to take over his fishing lodge for a weekend. He welcomed us into his home and ensured that we were well cared for and attended to our every need with excellent food and refreshments throughout our stay. The lodge rooms are set in the landscaped garden and are very comfortable, stylish and meet every need. The lodge had several quiet areas to escape to, to collect your thoughts and enjoy the peace and the scenery - my favorite was the spa pool with views over the river - even the odd shower of rain did not put a damper on things. The fishing guides were incredibly patient and knowledgeable, and have probably inspired a few of us to make fishing a new hobby.
Thank you Felix, for an amazing weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMJA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for my partner's 50th birthday and our visit could not have been more perfect. Each cottage suite is immaculate, comfortable and spacious, with a shower to die for. The view from your veranda is truly breathtaking and the lodge has its own access to the river, either to fish or to sit in the sun reading on the deck with the lodge labrador Keely as I did.
What makes the lodge truly special is Felix's genuine warm hospitality. Nothing is too much to ask, including supplying a very special fish shaped birthday cake! The atmosphere is very relaxed and everything is geared around making your stay as wonderful as possible. For us, the food is always very important and we were certainly not disappointed. Chef Ryan is definitely destined for greatness!
A true gem and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at the Lodge was truly the highlight of our two weeks in New Zealand. The experience was everything we had hoped for and so much more. The accommodations were first class and Chef Ryan is amazingly accomplished. Everything was simply delicious thanks to Chef Ryan. His fabulous creations only accentuated the total experience!

Aaron was the perfect guide for Krista and I. He pushed us physically, (which we both needed!) and challenged us to improve our casting through his tuition. The Wairaue, the Mauria and the Owen are all stunningly beautiful, each in its own way. Aaron consistently put us in position to capitalize on each situation and we did. We are thrilled every time we look through the photos and the GoPro footage we shot of all the magnificent Trout we caught and released. Alas, so many rivers....so little time.

Felix, is the consummate host; warm, genuine and welcoming. Hospitality is definitely his middle name. The entire experience is a tribute to him and his vision.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneefang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Firstly we are return guests to Felix's fabulous Owen River Lodge (after 5 years we are sorry to say) and by God he and his great team did not disappoint! We were welcomed with open arms including Keely the wonder lodge dog. From the exquisite wine list to the best 5 star quality food (thanks Ryan and Jo) to the best brown trout fishing in the world - this is IT.
Felix has gathered an outstanding team around him to provide the very best for fishing and relaxation. Our guide Paul was extraordinary - so very friendly and shared his expertise with such generosity and fun.
But Felix's secret weapon is Nikki - the hostess with the mostest - and probably Felix's finest catch of his lifetime.
Please go and fish, eat and enjoy the comfort and eclectic guests from around the world. We really hope that we'll come back again very soon to our fishing heaven and home away from home.
As keen fly fishers whose skills don't quite match the passion, we found the fishing challenging but highly rewarding. These fish don't surrender easily, but when you get everything right and get to hold one of these magnificent wild browns for a moment, the feeling is unrivalled.
Unless you've fished in New Zealand before, forget much of what you've learnt fishing North/South American and European rivers. You're going to be fishing super long leaders and tiny flies in gin clear water to wily fish. The best 4 tips we can give you are: 1) Trust your guide - they're really good!; 2) Practice your accuracy casting, presentation and turning over long leaders between 20' and 40' before you come; 3) Invest in a really good pair of polarized sunglasses; and 4) TRUST YOUR GUIDE even if you don't agree with their call.
Follow those simple rules and you will definitely catch more fish. We caught about 12 fish in our three days up to around 61/4lbs, and we lost or frightened off at least twice that many.
If you're contemplating a trip to Owen River Lodge, do yourself a favour, stop reading reviews and just book it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. Comfortable, quiet, well appointed and great views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews