We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kiwi131
Nelson, New Zealand
Owen River Lodge CFR weekend.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2014
I attended Owen River Lodge as part of the CFR Program. An amazing weekend, i wouldn't have wanted to miss.
Felix, your hospitality to all of us was truly outstanding, THANKYOU so much for hosting us.
Ryan and Jo, your food was amazing, Master Chef, eat your heart out.
Wonderful surroundings, breathtaking views, extremely comfortable cottages, what more could we want.
OH, and the fishing and guides an amazing experience, once in a lifetime when everything comes together in one place.
Also thanks to Keely, for canine entertainment.
Date of stay: April 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Buller River ... 2min walk away for all your river activities.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.1 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Park grounds set in stunning rural New Zealand
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.8 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
Lazy place..
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool area
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
18.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
38.2 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Murchison Adventure
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
18.7 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Eleven Owen River Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Murchison
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan owen river fly fishing brown trout other guests first class new zealand south island five star fishing experience caught fish fine dining end of the day days fishing first rate sense of humour dinner table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Felix very kindly allowed us to take over his fishing lodge for a weekend. He welcomed us into his home and ensured that we were well cared for and attended to our every need with excellent food and refreshments throughout our stay. The lodge rooms are set in the landscaped garden and are very comfortable, stylish and meet every need. The lodge had several quiet areas to escape to, to collect your thoughts and enjoy the peace and the scenery - my favorite was the spa pool with views over the river - even the odd shower of rain did not put a damper on things. The fishing guides were incredibly patient and knowledgeable, and have probably inspired a few of us to make fishing a new hobby.
Thank you Felix, for an amazing weekend.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMJA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for my partner's 50th birthday and our visit could not have been more perfect. Each cottage suite is immaculate, comfortable and spacious, with a shower to die for. The view from your veranda is truly breathtaking and the lodge has its own access to the river, either to fish or to sit in the sun reading on the deck with the lodge labrador Keely as I did.
What makes the lodge truly special is Felix's genuine warm hospitality. Nothing is too much to ask, including supplying a very special fish shaped birthday cake! The atmosphere is very relaxed and everything is geared around making your stay as wonderful as possible. For us, the food is always very important and we were certainly not disappointed. Chef Ryan is definitely destined for greatness!
A true gem and I wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 107helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at the Lodge was truly the highlight of our two weeks in New Zealand. The experience was everything we had hoped for and so much more. The accommodations were first class and Chef Ryan is amazingly accomplished. Everything was simply delicious thanks to Chef Ryan. His fabulous creations only accentuated the total experience!

Aaron was the perfect guide for Krista and I. He pushed us physically, (which we both needed!) and challenged us to improve our casting through his tuition. The Wairaue, the Mauria and the Owen are all stunningly beautiful, each in its own way. Aaron consistently put us in position to capitalize on each situation and we did. We are thrilled every time we look through the photos and the GoPro footage we shot of all the magnificent Trout we caught and released. Alas, so many rivers....so little time.

Felix, is the consummate host; warm, genuine and welcoming. Hospitality is definitely his middle name. The entire experience is a tribute to him and his vision.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneefang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Firstly we are return guests to Felix's fabulous Owen River Lodge (after 5 years we are sorry to say) and by God he and his great team did not disappoint! We were welcomed with open arms including Keely the wonder lodge dog. From the exquisite wine list to the best 5 star quality food (thanks Ryan and Jo) to the best brown trout fishing in the world - this is IT.
Felix has gathered an outstanding team around him to provide the very best for fishing and relaxation. Our guide Paul was extraordinary - so very friendly and shared his expertise with such generosity and fun.
But Felix's secret weapon is Nikki - the hostess with the mostest - and probably Felix's finest catch of his lifetime.
Please go and fish, eat and enjoy the comfort and eclectic guests from around the world. We really hope that we'll come back again very soon to our fishing heaven and home away from home.
As keen fly fishers whose skills don't quite match the passion, we found the fishing challenging but highly rewarding. These fish don't surrender easily, but when you get everything right and get to hold one of these magnificent wild browns for a moment, the feeling is unrivalled.
Unless you've fished in New Zealand before, forget much of what you've learnt fishing North/South American and European rivers. You're going to be fishing super long leaders and tiny flies in gin clear water to wily fish. The best 4 tips we can give you are: 1) Trust your guide - they're really good!; 2) Practice your accuracy casting, presentation and turning over long leaders between 20' and 40' before you come; 3) Invest in a really good pair of polarized sunglasses; and 4) TRUST YOUR GUIDE even if you don't agree with their call.
Follow those simple rules and you will definitely catch more fish. We caught about 12 fish in our three days up to around 61/4lbs, and we lost or frightened off at least twice that many.
If you're contemplating a trip to Owen River Lodge, do yourself a favour, stop reading reviews and just book it - you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: All rooms are equally good. Comfortable, quiet, well appointed and great views.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were recommended the Owen River Lodge for a fly fishing experience. The lodge,hospitality , food and guided fishing were all first class and exceeded our expectations in every way. The no fuss attention to detail by host Felix and his team made for a most enjoyable stay and experience. Highly recommended for both fly fishing enthusiasts and novices , or just to enjoy great hospitality the way it should be delivered, in an outstanding environment.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Waynekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews