We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Murchison Lodge(Murchison)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Owen River Tavern & Motels(Murchison)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classattention to detailfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at the Lodge was truly the highlight of our two weeks in New Zealand. The experience was everything we had hoped for and so much more. The accommodations were first class and Chef Ryan is amazingly accomplished. Everything was simply delicious thanks to Chef Ryan. His fabulous creations only accentuated the total experience!

Aaron was the perfect guide for Krista and I. He pushed us physically, (which we both needed!) and challenged us to improve our casting through his tuition. The Wairaue, the Mauria and the Owen are all stunningly beautiful, each in its own way. Aaron consistently put us in position to capitalize on each situation and we did. We are thrilled every time we look through the photos and the GoPro footage we shot of all the magnificent Trout we caught and released. Alas, so many rivers....so little time.

Felix, is the consummate host; warm, genuine and welcoming. Hospitality is definitely his middle name. The entire experience is a tribute to him and his vision.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneefang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Firstly we are return guests to Felix's fabulous Owen River Lodge (after 5 years we are sorry to say) and by God he and his great team did not disappoint! We were welcomed with open arms including Keely the wonder lodge dog. From the exquisite wine list to the best 5 star quality food (thanks Ryan and Jo) to the best brown trout fishing in the world - this is IT.
Felix has gathered an outstanding team around him to provide the very best for fishing and relaxation. Our guide Paul was extraordinary - so very friendly and shared his expertise with such generosity and fun.
But Felix's secret weapon is Nikki - the hostess with the mostest - and probably Felix's finest catch of his lifetime.
Please go and fish, eat and enjoy the comfort and eclectic guests from around the world. We really hope that we'll come back again very soon to our fishing heaven and home away from home.
As keen fly fishers whose skills don't quite match the passion, we found the fishing challenging but highly rewarding. These fish don't surrender easily, but when you get everything right and get to hold one of these magnificent wild browns for a moment, the feeling is unrivalled.
Unless you've fished in New Zealand before, forget much of what you've learnt fishing North/South American and European rivers. You're going to be fishing super long leaders and tiny flies in gin clear water to wily fish. The best 4 tips we can give you are: 1) Trust your guide - they're really good!; 2) Practice your accuracy casting, presentation and turning over long leaders between 20' and 40' before you come; 3) Invest in a really good pair of polarized sunglasses; and 4) TRUST YOUR GUIDE even if you don't agree with their call.
Follow those simple rules and you will definitely catch more fish. We caught about 12 fish in our three days up to around 61/4lbs, and we lost or frightened off at least twice that many.
If you're contemplating a trip to Owen River Lodge, do yourself a favour, stop reading reviews and just book it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. Comfortable, quiet, well appointed and great views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were recommended the Owen River Lodge for a fly fishing experience. The lodge,hospitality , food and guided fishing were all first class and exceeded our expectations in every way. The no fuss attention to detail by host Felix and his team made for a most enjoyable stay and experience. Highly recommended for both fly fishing enthusiasts and novices , or just to enjoy great hospitality the way it should be delivered, in an outstanding environment.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Waynekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned to Owen River Lodge and again enjoyed some wonderful hospitality from Felix and his staff.
We were wonderfully welcomed,very comfortably settled in the lovely lodge and had some great days of guided fishing. Superb cooking again from Ryan and Jo.
I can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Felix strives to operate a fly fishing lodge among the ranks of the world's finest -- and succeeds in doing so. His careful attention to detail ensures that every aspect of the guest experience exceeds expectation. The guides are excellent, which (for a novice like me) certainly makes the difference between getting skunked and landing a 7#, 30" brown. ORL is set in an idyllic valley. When combined with the superb, 3-course dinners prepared by Ryan nightly, it is a perfect respite after a rewarding day on the region's beautiful rivers.

Owen River Lodge deserves the unanimous 5-star ratings given by tripadvisor reviewers. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamrschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews