We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Must for Your Bucket List!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“A Must for Your Bucket List!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are planning a fishing trip to New Zealand, the Owen River Lodge is a must. For a long time, I have planned to visit the beautiful country of New Zealand. My son and I love to fly fish and did our homework before traveling to New Zealand in the last two weeks March, 2013; the Owen River Lodge was recommended to us for an excellent fishing venue. We traveled/fished the South Island for two weeks and purposely left the last week for the Owen River Lodge. Our stay at the Lodge was perfect; Felix and all the Lodge staff made us feel at home, accommodations were picture-perfect overlooking the Owen River, dinning (chef selections and socialization with other guests) was wonderful. Our fly fishing guide (Paul) is a professional. On the first day he listened; because of physical limitations (my bad knees) he selected fishing locations that were accommodating to my needs. And at locations, he made sure there were no difficulties crossing rivers. Most importantly, Paul put us on big brown trout and very effectively taught us new fishing techniques necessary for catching the feisty New Zealand brown trout. The Owen River Lodge gave us a perfect New Zealand fishing experience. Both of us have gone back to the USA, my son back to North Carolina and I to Virginia, with photographs of big brown trout caught in the Owens River region and thankful to Felix, the Owen River Lodge staff and Paul for our bucket full of memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyP844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
100
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have just spent 6 nights at Owen River Lodge. I went there with high hopes & my experience exceeded my wildest expectations. The accommodation was first class with service to match. Felix's hospitality was fantastic, I can't speak highly enough. The guests are the centre of attention at all times & all the staff make the stay at the lodge a trip to remember.
the fishing was out of this world, so many quality waters within 1 hour of the lodge & the guides were sensational. I was there at Easter & left it late to book a guide on Easter Saturday so Felix personally took me out for a day out of his own good will.
The food was out of this world, I requested vegetarian meals & was catered for perfectly. Ryan the head chef is world class & it was wonderful to sit down to such fine dining at the end of a great days fishing.
If you get the chance, do yourself a favour & head to Owen river for a visit, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 981JasonK981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

From setting the first foot inside the Owen River Lodge the feeling of warmth and welcome felt like being wrapped in a cuddly rug. Every comfort was catered for. Felix and Nicky were unobtrusive but there anticipating every need. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and exquisite meals were a highlight. I would heartily recommend the lodge to anyone wants an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My recent visit to the Owen River Lodge was a fantastic experience! Owner and host Felix Borenstein has created the perfect New Zealand fly fishing experience and getaway. Accommodations are top notch, every meal exceptional, the selection of NZ wines outstanding and, of course, the fishing world-class. My guide Craig was without a doubt the most patient guide I've fished with and his knowledge of the streams phenomenal. The entire staff of the Owen River Lodge were unbelievably accommodating and they created the perfect stay. I'll definitely return!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter; all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Owen River Lodge has just been "a flyfishing holiday of a lifetime"! The friendly team and host Felix run a first class operation in a lodge with understated comfort. The local waters are in a stunning environment and it was a joy to walk them with guides who were also great company. The fishing is challenging, and with the help of our skilful guides we were able to catch and release some magnificent browns. The evening 'debrief' with other guests and Ryan's gourmet dinners were the perfect way to end each different, yet very memorable day.
We will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
35.0 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#3 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
17.6 km away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
18.6 km away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
16.6 km away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price range (per night): $688 - $1,095
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing