We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Owen River Tavern & Motels(Murchison)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classattention to detailfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From setting the first foot inside the Owen River Lodge the feeling of warmth and welcome felt like being wrapped in a cuddly rug. Every comfort was catered for. Felix and Nicky were unobtrusive but there anticipating every need. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and exquisite meals were a highlight. I would heartily recommend the lodge to anyone wants an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My recent visit to the Owen River Lodge was a fantastic experience! Owner and host Felix Borenstein has created the perfect New Zealand fly fishing experience and getaway. Accommodations are top notch, every meal exceptional, the selection of NZ wines outstanding and, of course, the fishing world-class. My guide Craig was without a doubt the most patient guide I've fished with and his knowledge of the streams phenomenal. The entire staff of the Owen River Lodge were unbelievably accommodating and they created the perfect stay. I'll definitely return!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter; all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Owen River Lodge has just been "a flyfishing holiday of a lifetime"! The friendly team and host Felix run a first class operation in a lodge with understated comfort. The local waters are in a stunning environment and it was a joy to walk them with guides who were also great company. The fishing is challenging, and with the help of our skilful guides we were able to catch and release some magnificent browns. The evening 'debrief' with other guests and Ryan's gourmet dinners were the perfect way to end each different, yet very memorable day.
We will be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HappyBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Recently we spent a week at the Owen River Lodge and we had the best overall experience of our lives. Our host Felix and his wonderful team provided us with warm friendly service, outstanding accommodations and food, and our guide Craig was amazing! Every night at dinner we gathered with Felix and the other guests and shared our stories of large browns and rainbows over an amazing variety of wonderful three course dinners. By the end of the week we were already planning our next trip to the Owen River Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Owen River Lodge is quite simply THE place to stay for the ultimate NZ fly fishing lodge experience! Owner and host, Felix, has put together, and delivers, an exceptional package - fabulous food and wine, wonderful staff, top accommodation .... not to mention the awesome fly fishing. Owen River Lodge ticked all the boxes for us ... and more! My husband John was in the capable hands of experienced local guide Craig (organised by Felix) for three days and couldn’t have hoped for a better few days fishing in outstanding NZ countryside. Meanwhile, back at the Lodge, not being a fly fisher myself, I was well looked after and kept well occupied during the days with walking (did some lovely 1-2 hour hikes with Nicky), horse riding, mountain biking, reading .. and even a massage by Felix’s in-house masseuse! Heavenly. Drinks with the returned fishermen and guides at 5.30pm was always exciting with many tales told and a nice relaxed way to get to know the other guests before sitting down together later for the always excellent gourmet meal prepared by Ryan. A fantastic experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verandahpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews