We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
0
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
0
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

We had a flat battery at the Lake car park nearby and frantically searched for help. I found the manager's house and asked if he had jump leads while he was eating dinner with his wife. He stopped what he was doing, found some jump leads and gave me a lift to the car park and started the car for me. Fixed what felt like a very worrying situation for us as it is in the middle of a national park. Can't thank him enough for his assistance as he went out of his way to help.

The lodge is excellent and is in a fantastic location. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank michaeladams95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakelodge1, General Manager at Lake Rotoroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2015

only to pleased to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Absolutely fabulous place to stay, exceptionally comfortable room, exquisite food, wonderful host and magnificent views of the mountains and lake. Wonderful walking tracks close by and definitely the best quad biking experience I have been on in NZ. Thank you Bill

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lhowardpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakelodge1, General Manager at Lake Rotoroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2015

pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time 'exploring' the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Exceptional service. Bill the manager could not have been more helpful or friendly, made our stay amazing with his suggestions of activities and helpfulness in organising everything. the lodge is incredibly comfortable with fantastic views of the lake & mountains. We had the place to ourselves so it was particularly quiet and relaxing, but I think it would be even when much fuller. The food is simply top-class. We enjoyed the lovely walk to the nearby waterfall and an expedition on the hybrid mountain bikes (not in perfect condition, but they worked). The quad bike track is by far the best I've seen anywhere. note that, as with many beautiful places in NZ flies can be an issue when outside, so either cover up or use bug spray. I look forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakelodge1, General Manager at Lake Rotoroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

we love to read guest comments and when there are 'suggestions' that' we need to improve on something we take notice. The bikes had all been recently serviced locally in a small community hence some 'hybrid' parts on two of them to keep them safely operable.
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you all back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

If you have been fortunate enough to experience the private fishing and hunting lodges founded around the world in late 19th and early 20th centuries, you will know what to expect when you visit the Lake Rotoroa Lodge. If you haven't had this experience, I recommend it enthusiastically. At LRL, you will be treated as a member of a club, not a passing traveler - warm, friendly service, excellent food, unobtrusive attention to your needs and interests. If you like to fish, you have some of the best NZ trout rivers to choose from and excellent guides. If not, Bill and Jenny can arrange almost any other activity you can imagine - I particularly recommend the hiking. The Lodge has been updated recently without losing its charm and "clubby" feel.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakelodge1, General Manager at Lake Rotoroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Many thanks-always easy with such nice guests. As I write, further renovations are taking place as we continue to enhance guest comforts. We look forward to next season with a further revamp of facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our expectations for LRL were very high and I'm pleased to be able to say that they were exceeded. You might think that with all of it's history dating back to 1920 the lodge might be excused for resting on it's laurels but the way Bill, Jenny and Alasdair treat their guests you'd think that the lodge was making it's very first impression. Everything is well thought out - the rooms, location, service - Bill and Jenny are wonderful hosts, and little touches like laundry facilities, top notch fishing gear and heated floors in the bathrooms leave you wanting for nothing. Alasdair's cooking would be considered exceptional in London, NYC or Paris - which just puts it over the moon for a fishing lodge in New Zealand - every meal - breakfast, lunch and dinner was simply spectacular. Thank you for a great trip!

Room tip: Try the New Zealand wines!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakelodge1, General Manager at Lake Rotoroa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for the generous comments about your stay with us at LRL.
It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and thank you again for choosing Lake Rotoroa Lodge for your New Zealand fly fishing adventure.
Bill McDermott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews