We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
80
12
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
12
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great kitchen home away from home comfortable beds phil ghost
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the Lazy Cow Backpacker hostel is by far the loveliest and homeliest hostel we've had the pleasure to stay in and I could not recommend it more. It had everything we needed, and even breakfast which we could help ourselves to including cereals, fresh bread, home made spreads and juice. There was also milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and biscuits! It was wonderful to sit by the log fire and relax watching TV or films and play games which there were plenty to choose from, even darts! We didn't get to enjoy the outside space much because of weather but that too looked perfect with lots of seating, tables and heaters. Met one of the owners, Phil, who was super friendly and made us feel very welcome. We booked direct with the hostel which Phil confimed does make a difference to them so something to keep in mind! All the best, hope to be back one day! Kelly and Rachel

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kcooper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed here in desperate attempt to escape the sandflies in St Arnaud! We didn’t regret it - very friendly staff, reasonable price, room was clean and comfortable.
We had the family room with shared bathroom.
Quite a noisy night due to being right by highway but that’s to be expected.
Had a delicious meal in their restaurant also with first drinks free as staying there.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 232nickyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed in the ensuite room and it was comfortable enough for one night. There is a deck off of the ensuite room and the kitchen which is nice place to sit and have dinner. The bed was plenty comfortable however there is not a lot of room for your luggage. I would certainly stay here again if I was passing through the area.
.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

this is a really clean comfortable welcoming place to stay. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Hosts are friendly and welcoming and all facilities are excellent. Highly reccomended. kitchen dining lounge all open plan which facilitates socialising with other guests. great deck to sit out on and excellent pizza resturant part of the same complex. A completely relaxing place to stay and good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coachedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

The lazy cow is a small and very cozy hostel near the Abel Tasman Nationalpark. The kitchen was very clean and provided everything you need. The common area didn't seem like a hostel, more like a living room shared with friends. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a road closed on the day we wanted to arrive and they wrote us immediately and helped us getting there. I really wanted to stay longer at the Lazy Cow Hostel!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aenima888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews