We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$64
PricelineUS$64
TripadvisorUS$64
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
96
46
24
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
46
24
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm animals animal feeding clean amenities great place for families friendly owners south island new zealand lynn wallaby playground kitchen coins bunk laundry hosts internet campground
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

A wonderful surprise ahead of expectation - we had a cabin/ house with stunning views out the back door and a spa bath!! The camp ground facilities were clean and tidy. Great little farm animal collection at one end of the complex. Laundry and toilets good quality. Def recommend.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank R298YWpetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2020

Beware. This looks great on their web site _ awards, four star etc. It is not. The place is expensive ( we paid $95 for a basic cabin) _ we are fools. The place is unclean _ the kitchen lacks or low on many resources. Maintainence is low priority _ TV does not work _ plug for microwave does not work _ broken glass on path. Communication is poor _ extras weren't explained. The shared bathroom for cabins is not enough . As a NZer holidaying in own country _ very disappointing.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SharonCollins00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Winter, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2020

Thank you Sharon for raising these concerns, we appreciate all feedback so we can continue to provide all guests with the best possible experience. We would of been more than happy to show you how to operate the TV and Microwave as these have been checked and in perfect order. Our shared kitchen has plenty of equipment as this was spring cleaned and checked the day before you arrived. Hope you enjoy the rest of your ride and make it to Bluff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

We did a 3 week campervan trip around NZ and this was the worst and most expensive place we stayed at. We arrived to a cop parked at reception and then a really weird vibe throughout. Only men’s toilets available to use and they were disgusting. You get a nice stare walking to and from the permanent residents there. We have a 4 year old daughter and after half an hour we packed up and left. Asked for a refund and radio silence from the owner. Highly recommend the Riverside park in the same town. Clean and really hospitable, great for kids.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dnaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Winter, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Really, the only thing correct about you and your wife's review below is that there was a policeman at Reception.
We see this as a positive as they help keep communities safe and were visiting all businesses in the town, to do just that!
Also for the record we don't have permanent residents, and I'm the owner and nobody came to me for a refund.
We're glad you enjoyed your night in Murchison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Shame on Lonely Planet for recommending this campground - they have obviously not actually visited the place recently. We have travelled widely over the South Island for many years and this is by far the worst campground we have ever stayed at. I have stayed in more hygenic overcrowded backpackers in developing countries. This is also one of the most expensive parks in the current 'closed borders' NZ - they really need to pick up their act and target Kiwi tourists or go bust. We have had cheaper rates at far superior campsites than this one. Avoid it!

There are so many things that make this place an unpleasant location for your Kiwi holiday:

- ladies toilets are locked in low season. This means women and children (including my preschooler daughter) had to share a small men's bathroom with strangers. As a parent, I was obviously very concerned about this.
-there is no wheelchair accessible toilet and bathroom as this is also locked in low season
-the men's shower and toilet facilities were beyond filthy. Overflowing rubbish bins, dirty toilets - it obviously hadn't been cleaned in days, perhaps weeks. I complained and was assured it would be cleaned that afternoon but it never happened.
-the kitchen smells and is poorly ventilated and cold - no heating at all.
-teenage girls were doing burn outs within the campground and driving at dangerous speeds - I couldn't allow my children to play outside due to the dangerous driving.

Don't believe the hype on their website - bypass this one!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sms09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

A very attractive place to stay and highly recommended! Shady, grassy, clean amenities and situated just a quick walk to a reviving riverside swim. A big thankyou to Lynn, the lovely host, for a warm welcome and for being a terrific source of local knowledge...we very much appreciated your travelling advice!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stillhavelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews