We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
eDreams
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Agoda.comUS$87
TripadvisorUS$87
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
17
8
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
8
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese meal motel units owen river kim darts host bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

So after finding Murchison booked out we were advised to continued to the Owen River Taven and Motel..Kim the owner was amazing about even taking our booking from the car,Kim greeted us at the property . The motel units was super fresh and clean and modern and faced the mountains and river. I suggest you push for the units facing the bush and river!!
It is a fun place to stay with a great hostess..Linda and myself say thanks..plus that we had to also return a day later to collect some items we left behind which Kim called to tell us.....lols..

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 195,507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

One night stop and we really enjoyed it. We used a Motel unit and it was very nice and comfy, great nights sleep. The 'Tavern' was great fun. Very friendly pair running it (Kim&John). Played darts and pool until we met some other guests from Australia and France, good laughs until it was time to eat. Then the best Chinese meal we've eaten in ages!
Thanks, if we ever come this way again, we'll be back!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hamish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

Stopped off for a coffee and scone. Paid for the food but was informed after paying that not enough scones were available. Waited for ages and eventually left without the scone. Restaurant felt a bit dirty.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sevengraysparrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

OK for a nights stop off but the units are VERY small... room for a bed which we must admit was very comfortable... the TV was placed on the top of a wardrobe hence not the easiest place to watch … YES had limited coffee/tea facilities... Shower OK BUT we must comment on the evening meal we were offered in the tavern bar area... As we were the only guests we were not offered to sit in the dinning room but in the bar area...The choice was a selection of photos on the wall ….chose the fisherman's platter …. WELL did not expect it to be all frozen sea food straight from the packages from the super market …. Over cooked,. And if we were not so hungry was uneatable... Being in Owen River there is no were else to eat.. For NZD26.60 PP = what a rip off... VERY DISAPOINTED... also at the time of check out you just put your key in a box and drive off... No thank you or good bye.... .

Room tip: Book else where...
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019

We had been in coastal areas for 16 days and wanted an inland and more remote experience of good Kiwi hospitality. We certainly got that! The motel room was extremely clean, the bed comfortable, great shower, heating and all the expected amenities. Whilst there was a microwave etc in the room we would highly recommend (especially if you are only there for 1 or 2 nights) that you eat at the hotel on site. The food is fresh and locally sourced and cooked to order. There's a good selection - we chose "Hot & Spicy Venison"+ "Vegetable Soup & toast" and had wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce as a starter. ALL were superb! A Canadian who kills his own deer & eats venison regularly was staying at the time and commented that it was the best venison he'd tasted! The hotel is rustic inside and out which adds to the atmosphere. There's a fireplace and lots of interesting Kiwi history and sporting stuff to look at inside. The owners have been here 21 years and have put their heart and sole into it. I have worked, and still have investments, in the motel industry in Australia for over 20 years and rate this place and the operators highly. Room rates and meal costs are very affordable and represent excellent value for money. We would most definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Only 6 motel units separate from hotel & back from road - little traffic especially at night. Can't imagine any rooms being noisy.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenfrankmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews