We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jodie M
Yackandandah, Australia

Start of the rail trail

Review of Dunstan House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024via mobile
What a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful town. We are cycling the rail trail and this was a great place to stay after a hard days ride. We stayed in the Rustic Room which was very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast provided I. The morning was hearty and yummy. The house is beautifully renovated while still retaining its country charm
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Beautiful old buildings in a charming town
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Thanks for staying with us, so glad you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful little town and our historic home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Dunstan House
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Mechanic Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Dunstan House
Free parking
Old church.
    1.0 km from Dunstan House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Alyth
      1.7 km from Dunstan House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Clyde 13
        1.6 km from Dunstan House
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Cottages
        • Priceline
        3.0 km from Dunstan House
        View more hotels in Clyde
        Reviews (151)
        Filter reviews
        151 results
        Traveller rating
        118
        25
        5
        0
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        118
        25
        5
        0
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews rail trail watch the world wrap around balcony lovely old hotel like stepping back in time late lunch lovely balcony beautifully restored old sit outside continental breakfast the main street beautiful place to stay lovely hosts bread south island ian meredith
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 151 reviews
        Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

        A very nice looking hotel which has been renovated very well with period materials. It's situated in a good location, in the heart of the old town close to cafes and restaurants. We had booked the suite, so had a lounge in addition to a bedroom and unsuite. The hosts were friendly. We gave it only 3 stars as feel the lounge should have included a TV and control over when to turn the heaters on and off. The breakfast was adequate, however, given the amount we paid for the room it should have been more interesting.

        Date of stay: March 2024
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank Gmjones1958
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

        Thanks for choosing to stay with us, so glad you enjoyed your stay in our historic home. You would be one of very few people that requested a TV in our beautifully appointed lounge, most people are here to enjoy the ambience and peace and quiet. Breakfast doesn't usually disappoint, with our selection of 5 cereals, locally sourced stewed fruit, yoghurts, and a selection of toasts and spreads, for those of you with a more robust appetite, there is of course the cafe to compliment your requirements. Unsure what you mean about being more interesting, most people are fascinated by the place?

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 12 March 2024

        There were 10 in the cycling group doing various trails around Otago. We had two nights stay in Dunstan House. Meridith & Jan are wonderful hosts. Great accommodation and fantastic service.
        I would would highly recommend Dunstan House for your stay in Clyde.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with friends
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank BushClub
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

        Hi there, glad your group enjoyed their stay with us, it sure is a great place to base yourself for our wonderful trails.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

        Quaint, historic building. Nice hosts. Great location. Rooms way too small. Breakfast was poor despite the fact they were up early to make lovey pastries for sale later. All we had was cereal and toast options and had to wait despite it being out and set up.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank db7920
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

        Thanks for your stay, sorry that the 5 Cereals on offer, and our locally stewed stonefruit with 4 choices of toasts and spreads weren't acceptable to you. This is a complimentary breakfast by the way, not sure what you did expect. Yes, we run a very successful cafe in our dining room also, so full menu to choose from for those of you that have a healthier appetite. Not sure why you had to wait, we certainly ensure that all of our guests are accommodated for breakfast as a priority.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 27 February 2024

        I can only write about the restaurant not the hotel as did not stay here.

        Went here a few times on my visit to the area. It was delicious. The coffee - fantastic. Scones - delicious (especially the date scone). And the cook to order food also delicious. I highly recommend the salad with the halloumi or the eggs benedict.

        Atmosphere is great. A few tables outside. Inside it is like going back in time. It is an old hotel (still is a hotel).

        We really enjoyed it and would recommend a visit for sure.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank Lynn M
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

        Thank you for visiting our popular restaurant here in the heart of Clyde, everything is made on site! We love using natural and local ingredients, plenty to source from this lovely area!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 21 August 2023 via mobile

        Just a wonderful Olde World establishment with the best hosts in Ian Meredith. We will return. Breakfast is included and just beautiful. We visited middle of winter and were warm and cosy. Great situation, just across the road from Olivers restaurant.

        Date of stay: August 2023
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        1  Thank Hambo1948
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

        Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it really is a great location, we have many beautiful cafes and restaurants within walking distance, we also run a popular cafe in our dining room too!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews