We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gary Jones

An interesting building in a nice location.

Review of Dunstan House
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024via mobile
A very nice looking hotel which has been renovated very well with period materials. It's situated in a good location, in the heart of the old town close to cafes and restaurants. We had booked the suite, so had a lounge in addition to a bedroom and unsuite. The hosts were friendly. We gave it only 3 stars as feel the lounge should have included a TV and control over when to turn the heaters on and off. The breakfast was adequate, however, given the amount we paid for the room it should have been more interesting.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, so glad you enjoyed your stay in our historic home. You would be one of very few people that requested a TV in our beautifully appointed lounge, most people are here to enjoy the ambience and peace and quiet. Breakfast doesn't usually disappoint, with our selection of 5 cereals, locally sourced stewed fruit, yoghurts, and a selection of toasts and spreads, for those of you with a more robust appetite, there is of course the cafe to compliment your requirements. Unsure what you mean about being more interesting, most people are fascinated by the place?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Priceline
    $230
0.3 km from Dunstan House
Free parking
$341
  • Priceline
    $341
  • eDreams
    $341
  • Vio.com
    $341
0.0 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Cottages
$305
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $305
3.0 km from Dunstan House
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $165
0.0 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hot tub/spa pool (seasonal)
$175
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $176
  • Priceline
    $175
5.5 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Agoda.com
7.4 km from Dunstan House
$181
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $181
8.6 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$190
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $185
8.6 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Beds
$169
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $169
8.9 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Clyde
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
118
25
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
118
25
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rail trail watch the world wrap around balcony lovely old hotel like stepping back in time late lunch lovely balcony beautifully restored old sit outside continental breakfast the main street beautiful place to stay lovely hosts bread south island ian meredith
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024

There were 10 in the cycling group doing various trails around Otago. We had two nights stay in Dunstan House. Meridith & Jan are wonderful hosts. Great accommodation and fantastic service.
I would would highly recommend Dunstan House for your stay in Clyde.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BushClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Hi there, glad your group enjoyed their stay with us, it sure is a great place to base yourself for our wonderful trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

Quaint, historic building. Nice hosts. Great location. Rooms way too small. Breakfast was poor despite the fact they were up early to make lovey pastries for sale later. All we had was cereal and toast options and had to wait despite it being out and set up.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank db7920
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thanks for your stay, sorry that the 5 Cereals on offer, and our locally stewed stonefruit with 4 choices of toasts and spreads weren't acceptable to you. This is a complimentary breakfast by the way, not sure what you did expect. Yes, we run a very successful cafe in our dining room also, so full menu to choose from for those of you that have a healthier appetite. Not sure why you had to wait, we certainly ensure that all of our guests are accommodated for breakfast as a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

I can only write about the restaurant not the hotel as did not stay here.

Went here a few times on my visit to the area. It was delicious. The coffee - fantastic. Scones - delicious (especially the date scone). And the cook to order food also delicious. I highly recommend the salad with the halloumi or the eggs benedict.

Atmosphere is great. A few tables outside. Inside it is like going back in time. It is an old hotel (still is a hotel).

We really enjoyed it and would recommend a visit for sure.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for visiting our popular restaurant here in the heart of Clyde, everything is made on site! We love using natural and local ingredients, plenty to source from this lovely area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2023 via mobile

Just a wonderful Olde World establishment with the best hosts in Ian Meredith. We will return. Breakfast is included and just beautiful. We visited middle of winter and were warm and cosy. Great situation, just across the road from Olivers restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hambo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it really is a great location, we have many beautiful cafes and restaurants within walking distance, we also run a popular cafe in our dining room too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023

The proud and passionate owners, Ian and Meredith, make a friendly atmosphere of the Dunstan house, where we felt really welcome.
The house is brilliant and a sort of museum. We actually felt, we lived in 1900, with all the characteristics and details of that time.
The accommodations are also very clean.
Ian and Meredith, thanks a lot for this great experience !

Room tip: Frontdoor is closed. If no reaction on ringing doorbell, you can enter via the back.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liando-Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Hi Liando, thanks for your visit, yes its an amzing old building and we are so lucky to share it with our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Meredith and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews