We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Liando Harms

Friendly atmosphere

Review of Dunstan House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2023
The proud and passionate owners, Ian and Meredith, make a friendly atmosphere of the Dunstan house, where we felt really welcome.
The house is brilliant and a sort of museum. We actually felt, we lived in 1900, with all the characteristics and details of that time.
The accommodations are also very clean.
Ian and Meredith, thanks a lot for this great experience !
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Frontdoor is closed. If no reaction on ringing doorbell, you can enter via the back.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jun 2023
Hi Liando, thanks for your visit, yes its an amzing old building and we are so lucky to share it with our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Meredith and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Dunstan House
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Mechanic Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Dunstan House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Dunstan House
Free parking
Old church.
    1.0 km from Dunstan House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Alyth
      1.7 km from Dunstan House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Clyde 13
        1.6 km from Dunstan House
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Cottages
        • Priceline
        3.0 km from Dunstan House
        View more hotels in Clyde
        Reviews (151)
        Filter reviews
        151 results
        Traveller rating
        118
        25
        5
        0
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        118
        25
        5
        0
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews rail trail watch the world wrap around balcony lovely old hotel like stepping back in time late lunch lovely balcony beautifully restored old sit outside continental breakfast the main street beautiful place to stay lovely hosts bread south island ian meredith
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        7 - 12 of 151 reviews
        Reviewed 20 February 2023

        Bed very uncomfortable (collapsed on one side), broken chair, extremely basic and a toilet that exploded back over you when chain pulled. And an owner that has a reputation around town of being difficult and unreasonable - I agree!

        Date of stay: February 2023
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank WHITIANGA_NZ
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

        Hmm, sorry dont recall your booking, we would have certainly rectified that kind of dilemma had we been notified and given the opportunity.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 20 January 2023

        We stayed for one night before we spent 4 days cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail and one night after we finished.
        We had a lovely, warm, genuine welcome from Ian both times and he and other staff were on hand to ensure our stay went well. We felt valued.
        The exterior and interior of Dunstan House are charming and having use of the shady wrap-around balcony was a bonus.
        Our room and en-suite bathroom area were spacious enough for all our stuff.
        The continental breakfast was good quality and quantity.
        Easy off-road parking.
        We had a room at the back and it was very peaceful. Superb blackout curtains and respectful, quiet fellow guests made for restful nights.
        Dunstan House is right at the centre of the cute town of Clyde, an excellent location for exploring the area. As Clyde is a hub for various cycle trails, it's ideal for anyone using these.

        Date of stay: January 2023
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank JanuaryLantern
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

        Hi, thanks for your visit with us. We try to treat all our guests as friends enjoying a home away from home we enjoy getting to meet people and show off our beautiful house and quaint little town.
        Meredith and Ian

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 15 January 2023

        The manager told us they have to keep the front door locked during the day because people walking past on the street try to come in thinking it’s a museum! The front lobby is certainly like stepping back in time.
        We had the Fountain Room, a queen bed with ensuite with windows onto the front verandah. All the bedrooms, being Victorian era, are quite small and not very soundproof. The historic character and excellent location on the main street of Clyde make up for any short comings, and the friendly and helpful staff are the icing on the cake.

        Date of stay: November 2022
        Thank suzanneo890
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Meredith Kerrisk, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

        Hi Suzanne,
        Thanks so much for your visit. Yes, unfortunately given these times, we do have to keep our front door locked for the privacy and safety of our guests. This house does attract attention given its historic grand stature in our main street, we do allow those that dine within our cafe to have a sneak peak around the lounge and foyer areas though....
        Meredith and Ian

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 15 December 2022 via mobile

        Eight of us (4 couples) cycled the Lake Dunstan trail and finished with the most lovely evening here. We all slept well and we’re very well cared for and started our next days travel with a super breakfast and packed lunch by their cafe. We highly recommend this utterly magic place to take you back in time.

        Date of stay: December 2022
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank 334debif
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 23 October 2022 via mobile

        Stopped her for our first night after the Dunstan cycle trail. What an awesome old hotel that has been restored tastefully topped with a soak in an old claw bath. There is a cafe below which offers beautiful food and coffee. Lovely hospitality. Totally recommend a night there on your travels

        Date of stay: October 2022
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank Go25168551395
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews