We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More "everyday" choices that the other restaurants in the village”
Review of Tussock

Tussock
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Whakapapa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 November 2018

There weren't a lot of eating options in the village, and two of them were in the Chateau. We had a picky eater in our group, and most of the meals available at Ruapahu or Pihanga weren't something she would eat, so we were left with the restaurant at the Skotel or Tussocks. We chose Tussocks. It's very plain -- just a bar really with TVs and pool table. If it had been little warmer, sitting on the deck looking at the mountains/volcanos would have been nice. We shared a burger, a pizza, and seasoned wedges. Decent food if nothing special. For what it was, the food was fairly expensive ($17US for sandwiches and individual pizzas), but they have the luxury of charging what they want since there are so few options.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018

The place is cute and fun to site and enjoy the view. The evening we were there we saw a full rainbow from our table out the front window!

But the food is premade, so you can't ask for a pizza except with one of the 3 or 4 predefined sets of toppings (for example).

The wait staff was really nice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Deborahk8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We had a cool Tui beer at the end of our walk and enjoyed the stunning view over the vulcano which was almost clear!
If you stay at the Whakapapa Holiday Park you get 10% discount.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank B00gieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

The food was very good and the view on the verandah was top notch. I had a chicken burger and the hubby had a pizza. Both were very tasty.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We were able to walk here from our hotel - Chateau Tongariro - and liked the food here better. I think they are part of the same family, but the food, atmosphere were nicer. We enjoyed burgers, views, and the service!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryM10159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tussock also viewed

Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
 
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
 
Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Tussock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing