We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fishing operator”
Review of Sandspit Fishing Charters - CLOSED

Sandspit Fishing Charters
Reviewed 14 March 2016

I've been out on fishing trips with Nick at Sandspit Fishing Charters a number of times on both snapper and kingfish trips and they're awesome. Nick's a great character, knows his stuff, always gets us on the fish, he uses top quality gear (can use your own if you prefer but his is top of the line stuff) and is great at guiding people on how to fish if they're not sure of the method on the day or tips to improve. Nick is definitely my preferred fishing charter experience, I'll be going out with him again whenever I get the chance and would happily recommend him to others.

Thank Kiwi-Magneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn1933, Owner at Sandspit Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Thankyou very much I'm glad you had a great trip out with us again.
We appreciate your time taken to write this review.
Cheers Skipper Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic day fishing with Nic out near Coromandel. Started with a beautiful sunrise.
We all hooked up to good fish and enjoyed success. Great gear and a constant supply of lures and jigs to tempt the fish. The small 'octopus' lures were my fav!
Snapper, Kawai, Gurnard and John Dorey were landed on the day. Will be back again.
Thanks Nic!!

1  Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn1933, Owner at Sandspit Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thank you Wayne ! Glad you enjoyed your trip with us. See you again when your back in NZ. Cheers Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Nick was great, he took us a LONG way out into the gulf and was in constant touch with other boats searching for the best spots. We hooked up on a reasonable spot - only to find someone had not read the website and had bought a banana onto the boat!

I hooked into a couple of kingfish, Plenty of snapper, a few Jack Makerel and there was even a hook up of a Mako shark which just tore off the snapper and hook that was on the line at the time.

It was a great days fishing although we did not get huge snapper or our bag limit..
Would do it all again.

Thank 1960WarrenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn1933, Owner at Sandspit Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

HI Warren, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again sometime. The best time for the big Snapper is Nov,Dec,---Feb,Mar
Take care and we wish you a safe and happy year.
Cheers Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We took a 6-hour fishing trip on Saturday morning and had a fantastic time. All gear and bait (and expertise) provided, and Nick was an excellent host. We caught our full snapper quota well within our 6 hours, plus three Kahawhai, 2 John Dory (who didn't seem to mind that it wasn't live bait), and 1 Kingfish, would have been one more Kingfish if I hadn't set the drag on my reel too tight. The only problem we had was that our catch didn't fit into the chilly bin we had brought. This is our third outing with Playing Hooky, and each time we have caught our full quota, and had a great time. Highly recommended.

1  Thank PeterDavies_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn1933, Owner at Sandspit Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Many thanks for your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your fishing experience with us and look forward to seeing you again when you can make it out.
Again thankyou for taking the time to write a review as it all helps with our fishing charter.
Have a great year and take care!!
Nick and Carolyn ( his Mum )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015

A great day's fishing - lots of snapper, kingfish, kahawai and gurnard. Nick was very knowledgeable, helpful and relaxed. Good fishing spot. Tangles lines - not a problem

Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn1933, Owner at Sandspit Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Thank you for your feed back. Glad you had a great trip and hope to see you again some time. Have s happy and safe year. Cheers Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandspit Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing