We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
152
40
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
40
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the main road one night cathedral cove awesome stay stainless steel sink month old son bedroom unit standard of cleanliness fish and chip shop place to stay few minutes walk two night stay little gem ceiling fan thank you for a lovely an excellent base
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We had a lovely two night stay at the Blue Water Motel in Tairua. The area is magnificent and not overcrowded. Although situated next to the main road crossing the village, the place is very quiet and next to the village centre. We were welcomed by our very helpful and friendly host(s). He explained us what and when to do in the area and gave a lot of recommendations. He invited us to the local fishery festival and contest and we appreciated the local ambiance very much. The little chalet was clean and with all comfort, a typical decent motel to stay. Thank you for the hospitality.

Room tip: Ask for one of the chalets !
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our little slice of paradise.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Room was very clean and compact. A little dated but fine for our needs. Short stroll into town where there is very little happening and not much in the way of dining options. Good value for money. Friendly staff.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review. The town is pretty quiet at this time of year as there are not a lot of visitors on the Coromandel Peninsular so many of the eating establishments are on restricted days. There are still some good options available if you plan ahead.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Great welcome. Excellent place to stay for an overnight visit when you are out doing things during the day. The room is amazing in that it is a very compact room, but they have creatively packed so much in. It is rare to have a kitchenette with all you need. The place is spotlessly clean, with fresh nice towels. Hubby enjoyed the spa too. Fish and Chip shop was like I remember from the 60s...milk shakes, scoop ice creams, lollies in jars. The fish and chips were really nice too and it was all clean.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElizabethP416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in out little slice of paradise. We agree that the local chippie, Surf and Sand, does really good fish and chips.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

My wife and I could not recommend a place to stay more highly than we would here. We stayed in one of the Chalet's to the front of the property so benefited with a beautiful view. The units were extremely well kept and clean. (a real credit to Barry and Sue) They were also very kind, helpful hosts who gave us many tips on what to do in the area.
So we were able to enjoy many walks and sights from all over Tairua. Through their service they really do their bit to promote the area. They are also only minutes walking to any food store, restaurant or takeaway shop that you would possibly need.

Room tip: Front units have good views over the Estuary.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickwillemse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise. We do have some very nice walks arounf Tairua and we are pleased that you enjoyed them.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This was a last minute grab one deal.. the chalet was just the right size for 2 adults to laze and chill.. had everything you need tv fridge cooker microwave tea coffee kettle n toaster table n chairs and 2 deck chairs on deck

It poured with rain when we were there but the chalet was solid wind n waterproof

The shower was awesome and powerful

Bed very comfortable and everything was scrupulously clean even the stainless steel sink top was shining.this is one of the best small motels we have stayed in

Top marks to Barry and Sue our hosts very friendly and full of enthusiasm for their bit of paradise.

As the terminator says we will be back......

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ewan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi
Thank you for your nice review of our little slice of paradise, we would be very happy to welcome you back and hopefully the weather will play the game next time.
Kind regards
Barry and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews