We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
3
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Sylvia & Ale are amazing hosts, they make us feel at home since the first call, when we arrived as well and during our whole stay.

I would like to reply to a few negatives comments I've seen, not to have any misunderstanding.

This place is maybe not made for everyone indeed but :
- kitchen is cleaned every day, yes there is a lot of food around because they are a lot of backpackers so that's normal !

And yes, there are flies around, it's New Zealand and it's summer! So everything is normal, and owners ask everyone to cover food to avoid it.

- bathrooms and toilets are cleaned every day as well, and there are ENOUGH of them.

- yes there are people sleeping in their van/car, that's make the price reduced and the place isn't a mess, everyone is organised.

- wifi is free, works better at the reception and they put a lot of chairs and benches.

- laundry isn't ALWAYS in use, owners are using it in the morning to... clean bedding and towels, and tea towels. Laundry is free, takes half an hour and clothes dry very fast with the fun.

- don't know anything about rooms though I didn't visit but the place is full at the moment so I'm guessing people like it.

- oven, microwave, sinks, baking trays, pots, fridges, freezers... you have everything in the kitchen, and sometimes free food from others backpackers.

IN A WORD : I LOVE THIS PLACE.
Good vibe, clean, nice facilites & awesome owners.

:)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank mathilde3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

It was such a joy to spend 6 days at the beach house, The beautiful Italian couple that run the place are so inclusive, happy an supportive an delicious smells come from the kitchen.
I met lots of exciting travelers,
I love the spaciousness of the whole place.

Easy walk to an amazing beach ,Tairua is nestled within an surrounded by mountains.
Lots of good cafes, with WiFi .
Hot water beach is 25 mins away its an amazing experience.

An easy access to many tourist attractions.
Enjoy your time

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Management were friendly and helpful but the place is pretty grotty, our room was ok, clean sheets, bedside cabinet and shelves and a comfortable bed but some of the toilets weren't working, no hot water in one of the showers and the kitchen was a disgrace. With so many people staying long term boxes of food and dirty benches attracts flies which makes preparing of food not too pleasant. The car park is full of kids sleeping in their cars using the facilies. Dont even think about doing laundry here, with so many people the chance of finding the machine empty would be pretty slim. The place needs a good clean and guests need educating on basic food hygiene and respect for those that follow.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FunkyMarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner in a private double room. The managers who met us were very welcoming, but i'm afraid it went downhill from there. The room was ok, very basic. The kitchen was just full of flies with boxes of food just left everywhere and needed a really good clean, some fly curtains put up. There are not enough showers or toilets, the washing machine is always in use, most of the people in the hostel are working on the local fruit farms and it felt very clicky. There are people living in their cars in the car park and it seems as though people can just come in from anywhere. I also had my phone stolen from the bathroom and when i pulled the management about it they said it couldn't be any of there residents because they are like a family....
I wouldn't stay here again and if you have options i would go somewhere else, i'm afraid i can't recommend this place to anyone, it was more like a hippy squat than a hostel...

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philsgonemissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Love the atmosphere of this hostel. It is run by an Italian couple who offer a warm and friendly welcome. It is clean and quiet and light. Quite a few of the guests are living there while they work nearby. This is good. There is free Wi-Fi and washing facilities for clothes. About two minutes drive from a lovely beach or 15 minutes nice walk. We visited a number of different beaches which were close because we had a car. The hot water Beach for example is about 25 minutes away. Big garden and tables outside.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OBOCheltenhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews