We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a view”
Review of Karikari Estate

Karikari Estate
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Kaitaia
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Description: Karikari Estate is New Zealand's northernmost Vineyard and winery. Nestled on Northland's stunning Karikari Peninsula, the vineyard looks over the rolling coastal land of Carrington Farms, towards the top of the far north of New Zealand. Whether it's a tasting, a meal, or a weekend experience, Karikari Estate Vineyard and Winery is a whole new experience to savour and enjoy. Pets are allowed on leash only.
Restaurant details
Description: Karikari Estate is New Zealand's northernmost Vineyard and winery. Nestled on Northland's stunning Karikari Peninsula, the vineyard looks over the rolling coastal land of Carrington Farms, towards the top of the far north of New Zealand. Whether it's a tasting, a meal, or a weekend experience, Karikari Estate Vineyard and Winery is a whole new experience to savour and enjoy. Pets are allowed on leash only.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We popped here for a wine tasting during the Easter break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! We were in a group with a range of ages.
We decided to eat food here and that was a fantastic idea! The view is incredible!! The pizzas were so tasty and the fries were nice and crunchy. Will be happy to visit again!
The service was great. I was disappointed in the toilets a bit as I expected more from a winery.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank EktaGdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Lunch with friends. Two ordered fish and chips which had to be sent back as the fish was raw in the middle. The table next to us had the same complaint. When the fish and chips were returned to the table, the fish had been reheated and was burnt as per the attached photo. We sat outside in a marquee as we were told they didn’t have any tables or seating inside. Very windy and cold. Acoustics were terrible as we had difficulty with conversations. Prices were to be expected as the view was stunning. One piece of fish and plain salad with fries $25.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Valh245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Had a delicious meat platter. Service was really great but the experience was spoiled by expensive wine. Price per glass was exorbitant.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Scenic20153276110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We were staying at coopers beach and booked the eight of us in fo lunch
We arrived to a beautiful setting overlooking the Vineyard and out to the water
The service from start to finish was excellent
All the meals we received were delicious and very large portions from the pizzas to the platters
Would definitely return and highly recommend as a frat spot for lunch

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank KiwiDavebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

Our third visit here, first this year.
It was poor sadly (as per last visit a year ago).
The staff are not friendly, the food is often ran out, the menu limited.
You can’t go past here for a stunning view and a great spot to relax and watch the sh sunset, but don’t expect amazing food.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank April-c-is-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karikari Estate also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Karikari Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.