We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
334
99
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
99
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages hot water beach self contained cottage hahei beach beautiful garden new zealand a real gem onsite restaurant breakfast tray peaceful place to stay private veranda on site low tide restaurant next door small kitchenette local area comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Great place for a private get away, extremely comfortable beds & pillows. Kitchen and bathrooms well appointed. The fire place (if you get a cottage with a fire place) was a bonus. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: The all appear to be private
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hi Megan,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the new mattresses and the new pillows. We pride ourselves on the privacy afforded to each and every one of the Cottages. The two Woodfired Cottages are super private and so great for a relaxing getaway.. We recommend booking one for the winter months and coming to Hotwater beach as it's so nice and quiet here then!
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Me and my wife recently stayed here for 5 nights, heard lots about it from family so we decided to check it out. Not disappointed, stayed in a very comfortable chalet type building which has a small fridge, toaster and microwave so u can do your own breakfast, only 5 minute walk to Hahei beach and a few shops. Only downside was restaurant closed but hey always next time as definitely be back, staff extremely friendly and provide info on the different tours available in the area, u can also get your spade from reception to dig a hole at the nearby Hot Water Beach.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hi Donald,
Thank you for your lovely review of a Garden Cottage stay with us in October. We love that you both enjoyed yourselves and we do hope you will return again soon. We are very centrally located with walking distance to shops and the Beach so you really can relax and unwind as you said! We are super glad you enjoyed Hotwater Beach and the use of the free spades.
Thanks again and hope you come back these ways soon.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Our three bedroom house was quite special. Lovely high ceilings, really spacious, fantastic kitchen that filled with sunshine in the mornings, comfortable beds and a wonderfully warm fire too.
It had such a good feel to it.
The owners were friendly and extremely helpful and everything runs very smoothly indeed.
The gardens were filled with my favourite flowers and scents and I couldn't believe I even had potted tulips by our gate.
We loved our stay and hope to return one day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks Ingrid! We are so glad you took the time to write a review and such a lovely one too! The House is a favourite amongst our guests and staff alike, as it's got a lovely feel. I am trying my best to keep the garden full of flowers as summer approaches but you definitely got the best of the tulips!
Thank you again for staying and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in early October. As we were arriving late Andreas sorted everything for us so it was easy to get into our room quickly after the drive from Auckland. The room was cosy and quaint - loved the heated towel rail for warm towels in the morning. Breakfast tray was perfect. After a chat with Andreas on our first morning we had our agenda planned so we could enjoy all the local spots in the short time we had. It was fun catching the little ferry across to Whitianga which we would not have done without his suggestion. Kayaking to cathedral cove was amazing as our stay fortunately coincided with glorious weather. The Pour House a top spot for dinner - although not many options at this time of year it was very good. Will be good when the restaurant at The Church
re-opens after renovations. Cheers ... Jules

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pandathebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Jules,
Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on to Andreas your lovely remarks! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to you staying again in the future.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Great church like atmosphere. Very nice studio room with veranda. Beautiful gardened surroundings. Peaceful, private, serene ambience. Welcoming and lovely host. Couldn't have been nicer. Beautiful beach and walk to Cathedral cove.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephenL3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Stephen L,

Thank you or taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Studios are so lovely and simple with the little balconies and gardens. We do hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews