We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely staff, welcoming us upon the arrival. Cottage was very specious and clean. Only cons is that their single bed located in living area. They call "single divan bed" but certainly its not "single size". It may be okay for children but definitely not for adult. Still charge extra (basic cost is for up to 2, then extra person is $25 per night). We thought it was expensive for that small couch to sleep on for that amount.
Other than that, lovely setting and very relaxing. Highly recommended for family with kids or a couple.

Room Tip: close to cathedral cove, yummy restaurant is around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beauty1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Beauty,
Thank you for your review. We understand you booked one of our Studio units which is the smallest of the cottages we offer so you would be incorrect ot say all the single divan beds are the same size in all of the Cottages. All our Cottages are designed to house 2 people and the extras are all charged for. This is common practise with all accommodation providers in Hahei and the Coromandel. We are sorry you did not see the room pictures online before you reserved with us. We do hope you enjoyed all the other things about your stay here at The Church Accommodation and next time we will try to move you all to a larger cottage if it is available. We try our best to be honest about the size of all the Cottages and if anything is not satisfactory we try to organise a solution at the time. We are sorry you did not give us the opportunity to do so at the time. Many thanks and happy travels,
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place for a private get away, extremely comfortable beds & pillows. Kitchen and bathrooms well appointed. The fire place (if you get a cottage with a fire place) was a bonus. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: The all appear to be private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Megan,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the new mattresses and the new pillows. We pride ourselves on the privacy afforded to each and every one of the Cottages. The two Woodfired Cottages are super private and so great for a relaxing getaway.. We recommend booking one for the winter months and coming to Hotwater beach as it's so nice and quiet here then!
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife recently stayed here for 5 nights, heard lots about it from family so we decided to check it out. Not disappointed, stayed in a very comfortable chalet type building which has a small fridge, toaster and microwave so u can do your own breakfast, only 5 minute walk to Hahei beach and a few shops. Only downside was restaurant closed but hey always next time as definitely be back, staff extremely friendly and provide info on the different tours available in the area, u can also get your spade from reception to dig a hole at the nearby Hot Water Beach.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Donald,
Thank you for your lovely review of a Garden Cottage stay with us in October. We love that you both enjoyed yourselves and we do hope you will return again soon. We are very centrally located with walking distance to shops and the Beach so you really can relax and unwind as you said! We are super glad you enjoyed Hotwater Beach and the use of the free spades.
Thanks again and hope you come back these ways soon.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Our three bedroom house was quite special. Lovely high ceilings, really spacious, fantastic kitchen that filled with sunshine in the mornings, comfortable beds and a wonderfully warm fire too.
It had such a good feel to it.
The owners were friendly and extremely helpful and everything runs very smoothly indeed.
The gardens were filled with my favourite flowers and scents and I couldn't believe I even had potted tulips by our gate.
We loved our stay and hope to return one day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Ingrid! We are so glad you took the time to write a review and such a lovely one too! The House is a favourite amongst our guests and staff alike, as it's got a lovely feel. I am trying my best to keep the garden full of flowers as summer approaches but you definitely got the best of the tulips!
Thank you again for staying and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in early October. As we were arriving late Andreas sorted everything for us so it was easy to get into our room quickly after the drive from Auckland. The room was cosy and quaint - loved the heated towel rail for warm towels in the morning. Breakfast tray was perfect. After a chat with Andreas on our first morning we had our agenda planned so we could enjoy all the local spots in the short time we had. It was fun catching the little ferry across to Whitianga which we would not have done without his suggestion. Kayaking to cathedral cove was amazing as our stay fortunately coincided with glorious weather. The Pour House a top spot for dinner - although not many options at this time of year it was very good. Will be good when the restaurant at The Church
re-opens after renovations. Cheers ... Jules

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pandathebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrease890, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jules,
Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on to Andreas your lovely remarks! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to you staying again in the future.
Kind regards,
Anna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
9.2 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
440 reviews
0.2 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Road, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $143 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing