We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
312
97
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
97
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshot water beachself contained cottagehahei beachnew zealandprivate gardenbreakfast traypeaceful place to stayon sitebeautiful cottagerestaurant next doorsmall kitchenettelow tidelocal areacomfy bedlate checkthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Stayed in one of the self contained cottages with a veranda equipped with table and chairs. The accommodation was beautiful decked out with special attention to detail. Lovely gardens, peaceful surroundings, 5 mins walk to beach. Very helpful owners. A must stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigold03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks for your review and for commenting on our gardens- I know Anna will be delighted to hear that!
Hope to see you again here sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We booked a 4 persion chalet. It was clean, well maintained and quiet. Sitting on the veranda we overlooked the gardens and not other chalets.Which gives a feelng of complete privacy.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Hahei has a beautiful beach, and is convenient for Hot Water Beach and Cathedral cove.

If we visit the Coromandel pennsula again I would not hesitate in staying at the the Church.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank normanjamison888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thanks Norman- we appreciate your review and wonderful comments about our property and staff. We hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We recently booked at the Church Accommodation and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens. The lady was very welcoming and the room was cute with its pitched ceiling, very clean and had everything that we needed. No TV in the room but one was available in the shared lounge if you really needed it. We would definitely recommend staying here, the area is beautiful and there is lots to do and a great cafe not too far away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks Geraldine, for your review. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma who was in the office that day.
We do have TV's in all our larger cottages- but it is nice to have a bit of a break form that and enjoy the gardens isn't it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed 1 night Jan 17 . Located 5 mins walk to beach in peaceful low key setting. Well run hotel by friendly owner. Has restaurant onsite and other eat out options just down the road. Stayed in studio which is close to other rooms so can hear next room over a little. Found my stay to be relaxing with the use of the baloney of the studio room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greenandblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review guys- glad you found your stay relaxing and enjoyed the garden views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The Church accommodation in Hahei is centrally located, a short walk to the beach and head of the Cathedral Cove hike. The cottages are very quaint, and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The ground are well kept with lots of beautiful plants and flowers, and the restaurant on site is a great option for dinner. The service was also very friendly and accommodating. Overall would highly recommend to travellers in the area.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 7, and the wifi was quite slow but it was very private.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review and reccommendation Rebecca. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our gardener and the restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews