We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun accommodation, walk to beach and town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun accommodation, walk to beach and town”
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Our room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. It is set in a lovely garden. All rooms offer a lovely balcony with outdoor seating.The staff/owner were helpful and friendly. The property had a restaurant which we ate at twice. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise to the alternatives elsewhere where all you could really find available was fish and chips and pizza.

Room Tip: Corner rooms would provide a quieter position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 April 2017
HI Suanne,
Thanks for your review and for commenting on our gardens- they are a never ending source of work and enjoyment for us... and just enjoyment for our guests and birdlife :)
I will be sure to pass your comments on to the restaurant as well.
Hope to see you back here again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    84
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
234
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Stayed in one of the self contained cottages with a veranda equipped with table and chairs. The accommodation was beautiful decked out with special attention to detail. Lovely gardens, peaceful surroundings, 5 mins walk to beach. Very helpful owners. A must stay.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marigold03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 April 2017
Thanks for your review and for commenting on our gardens- I know Anna will be delighted to hear that!
Hope to see you again here sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We booked a 4 persion chalet. It was clean, well maintained and quiet. Sitting on the veranda we overlooked the gardens and not other chalets.Which gives a feelng of complete privacy.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Hahei has a beautiful beach, and is convenient for Hot Water Beach and Cathedral cove.

If we visit the Coromandel pennsula again I would not hesitate in staying at the the Church.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanjamison888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2017
Thanks Norman- we appreciate your review and wonderful comments about our property and staff. We hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We recently booked at the Church Accommodation and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens. The lady was very welcoming and the room was cute with its pitched ceiling, very clean and had everything that we needed. No TV in the room but one was available in the shared lounge if you really needed it. We would definitely recommend staying here, the area is beautiful and there is lots to do and a great cafe not too far away.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 February 2017
Thanks Geraldine, for your review. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma who was in the office that day.
We do have TV's in all our larger cottages- but it is nice to have a bit of a break form that and enjoy the gardens isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed 1 night Jan 17 . Located 5 mins walk to beach in peaceful low key setting. Well run hotel by friendly owner. Has restaurant onsite and other eat out options just down the road. Stayed in studio which is close to other rooms so can hear next room over a little. Found my stay to be relaxing with the use of the baloney of the studio room.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenandblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 February 2017
Thanks for your review guys- glad you found your stay relaxing and enjoyed the garden views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
28.7 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
428 reviews
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Property: The Church Accommodation
Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price range (per night): $118 - $198
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing