We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
312
97
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
97
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshot water beachself contained cottagehahei beachnew zealandprivate gardenbreakfast traypeaceful place to stayon sitebeautiful cottagerestaurant next doorsmall kitchenettelow tidelocal areacomfy bedlate checkthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We recently booked at the Church Accommodation and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens. The lady was very welcoming and the room was cute with its pitched ceiling, very clean and had everything that we needed. No TV in the room but one was available in the shared lounge if you really needed it. We would definitely recommend staying here, the area is beautiful and there is lots to do and a great cafe not too far away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks Geraldine, for your review. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma who was in the office that day.
We do have TV's in all our larger cottages- but it is nice to have a bit of a break form that and enjoy the gardens isn't it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed 1 night Jan 17 . Located 5 mins walk to beach in peaceful low key setting. Well run hotel by friendly owner. Has restaurant onsite and other eat out options just down the road. Stayed in studio which is close to other rooms so can hear next room over a little. Found my stay to be relaxing with the use of the baloney of the studio room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greenandblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review guys- glad you found your stay relaxing and enjoyed the garden views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The Church accommodation in Hahei is centrally located, a short walk to the beach and head of the Cathedral Cove hike. The cottages are very quaint, and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The ground are well kept with lots of beautiful plants and flowers, and the restaurant on site is a great option for dinner. The service was also very friendly and accommodating. Overall would highly recommend to travellers in the area.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 7, and the wifi was quite slow but it was very private.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review and reccommendation Rebecca. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our gardener and the restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed in a studio which I found beautiful and comfortable and much more spacious than I had expected from looking at photos on-line. I particularly liked that the back door opened on to a small decking area with table & chairs with steps leading down to a tiny private garden area which then led onto the beautiful, well kept gardens. I found this totally charming.

The room was well equipped and I thought the provision of beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach was really considerate and useful. We were just travelling with light trekking towels, so the beach towels were very much appreciated.

Hahei is beautiful and has a lovely beach which is easy to walk to from the accommodation. It is also a great location for visiting Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. I absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Jane,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review :) I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our gardening team- I know they've been busy this year!.
Hope we get to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Beautiful, Clean studios and cottages. Great knowledgeable host offering lots of information on local area which helps to maximise your time. We stayed one night in studio and 1 night in self contained cottage. Both were great. No TV in studio which was nice and forced us to enjoy the lovely outdoor seating area. The self contained cottage was also disability friendly which we did not need but being a nurse it looks well appointed for a disabled person with plenty of room in bathroom for wheelchair access.
We thoroughly enjoyed our Hahei stay and it was a great way to finish in NZ.

Room Tip: Studio good for a couple but might be a little crowded with a child although there is a great common room with TV, lounges and games.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Michelle-
Thanks for your lovely review. It's nice to hear our suggestions were well recieved- as you can see there is so much to do here- a couple of days is barely enough!.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and would love to see you again sometime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews