We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky accommodation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We recently booked at the Church Accommodation and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the beautiful gardens. The lady was very welcoming and the room was cute with its pitched ceiling, very clean and had everything that we needed. No TV in the room but one was available in the shared lounge if you really needed it. We would definitely recommend staying here, the area is beautiful and there is lots to do and a great cafe not too far away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks Geraldine, for your review. I'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma who was in the office that day.
We do have TV's in all our larger cottages- but it is nice to have a bit of a break form that and enjoy the gardens isn't it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for The Church Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed 1 night Jan 17 . Located 5 mins walk to beach in peaceful low key setting. Well run hotel by friendly owner. Has restaurant onsite and other eat out options just down the road. Stayed in studio which is close to other rooms so can hear next room over a little. Found my stay to be relaxing with the use of the baloney of the studio room.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greenandblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review guys- glad you found your stay relaxing and enjoyed the garden views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The Church accommodation in Hahei is centrally located, a short walk to the beach and head of the Cathedral Cove hike. The cottages are very quaint, and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The ground are well kept with lots of beautiful plants and flowers, and the restaurant on site is a great option for dinner. The service was also very friendly and accommodating. Overall would highly recommend to travellers in the area.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 7, and the wifi was quite slow but it was very private.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Thanks for your review and reccommendation Rebecca. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our gardener and the restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed in a studio which I found beautiful and comfortable and much more spacious than I had expected from looking at photos on-line. I particularly liked that the back door opened on to a small decking area with table & chairs with steps leading down to a tiny private garden area which then led onto the beautiful, well kept gardens. I found this totally charming.

The room was well equipped and I thought the provision of beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach was really considerate and useful. We were just travelling with light trekking towels, so the beach towels were very much appreciated.

Hahei is beautiful and has a lovely beach which is easy to walk to from the accommodation. It is also a great location for visiting Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. I absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Jane,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review :) I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our gardening team- I know they've been busy this year!.
Hope we get to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Beautiful, Clean studios and cottages. Great knowledgeable host offering lots of information on local area which helps to maximise your time. We stayed one night in studio and 1 night in self contained cottage. Both were great. No TV in studio which was nice and forced us to enjoy the lovely outdoor seating area. The self contained cottage was also disability friendly which we did not need but being a nurse it looks well appointed for a disabled person with plenty of room in bathroom for wheelchair access.
We thoroughly enjoyed our Hahei stay and it was a great way to finish in NZ.

Room Tip: Studio good for a couple but might be a little crowded with a child although there is a great common...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Michelle-
Thanks for your lovely review. It's nice to hear our suggestions were well recieved- as you can see there is so much to do here- a couple of days is barely enough!.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and would love to see you again sometime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
502 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $117 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing