We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hahei Holiday Resort(Hahei)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tatahi Lodge Beach Resort(Hahei)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$104
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
321
97
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
97
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshot water beachself contained cottagehahei beacha real gemnew zealandbeautiful gardenbreakfast traypeaceful place to stayprivate verandaon siterestaurant next doorsmall kitchenettelow tidelocal areacomfy bedour night stay
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed in a studio which I found beautiful and comfortable and much more spacious than I had expected from looking at photos on-line. I particularly liked that the back door opened on to a small decking area with table & chairs with steps leading down to a tiny private garden area which then led onto the beautiful, well kept gardens. I found this totally charming.

The room was well equipped and I thought the provision of beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach was really considerate and useful. We were just travelling with light trekking towels, so the beach towels were very much appreciated.

Hahei is beautiful and has a lovely beach which is easy to walk to from the accommodation. It is also a great location for visiting Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. I absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Jane,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review :) I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our gardening team- I know they've been busy this year!.
Hope we get to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Beautiful, Clean studios and cottages. Great knowledgeable host offering lots of information on local area which helps to maximise your time. We stayed one night in studio and 1 night in self contained cottage. Both were great. No TV in studio which was nice and forced us to enjoy the lovely outdoor seating area. The self contained cottage was also disability friendly which we did not need but being a nurse it looks well appointed for a disabled person with plenty of room in bathroom for wheelchair access.
We thoroughly enjoyed our Hahei stay and it was a great way to finish in NZ.

Room Tip: Studio good for a couple but might be a little crowded with a child although there is a great common room with TV, lounges and games.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi Michelle-
Thanks for your lovely review. It's nice to hear our suggestions were well recieved- as you can see there is so much to do here- a couple of days is barely enough!.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and would love to see you again sometime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We were very taken with the accommodation at the Church. Not only was it clean and tidy but it was a lovely location in well kept gardens. The person on reception was very helpful and guided us to the best time to visit Hot Water Beach and how to reach Cathedral Cove.
The restaurant was very amenable and prepared us a meal to take to our room as they were about to close.
We didn't use the sitting room but were impressed with it's size and facilities. It would be an ideal location for a weekend with a large group.
I shall dream of returning to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi
Thank you for your lovely review- we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass you comments on to the restaurant team and the gardening team- they'll be glad to hear your comments. We do hope we will have you stay again sometime./ :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottage units. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We were impressed with the cleanliness of not only the inside but the exterior as well. The Wi-Fi in our unit, #7, was not functional but when we needed Wi-Fi we walked a short distance to the reception area where there is a large lounge area and could get a good connection. Communication from initial contact to arrival was great. It’s a short walk, 10 minutes, to the beautiful beach and you don’t have to worry about finding a parking spot. The walk to restaurants and stores in even shorter. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys, thanks so much for your review- Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed yuour stya with us and appreciatted the hard work our cleaners do. We'll be sure to pass on your comments.
Hope to see you again sometime./ :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The Church is just a really beautiful quiet property with scenic gardens, and just a very rustic vibe. It's in a good central location, within a short driving distance to hot water beach and cathedral cove (walkable). It's about ten minutes walking distance to the beach, which is gorgeous. Hahei in general is just a really peaceful, beautiful place.

Our room / cottage was very spacious, with a free parking spot located right out front. Reception is just a short walk away, and times are posted for when it is appropriate to visit both hot water beach and cathedral cove. We happened to get there just as reception was closing, but the lady at the desk was really gracious, and she showed us to our room before closing down for the night.

The room was a little bit cold when we got there (just because it was cold outside to begin with), but there is a little room heater that helps to create a bit of warmth. Wifi was not the strongest, and the room did not have a TV, so the place was more of a 'getaway' from reality than we expected. Not really a big deal since we were only there for one night.

Located right next door is a restaurant - also called the Church (and located inside an old church). The food here is excellent, and we would absolutely recommend it seeing that is a skip and a hop away from where you are staying.

Once again, this was a very beautiful place and we were glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys- thanks for your review. We'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma in reception and the guys in the restaurant. Hope fully we will see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews