We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfort in Hahei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and comfort in Hahei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

The Church accommodation in Hahei is centrally located, a short walk to the beach and head of the Cathedral Cove hike. The cottages are very quaint, and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The ground are well kept with lots of beautiful plants and flowers, and the restaurant on site is a great option for dinner. The service was also very friendly and accommodating. Overall would highly recommend to travellers in the area.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 7, and the wifi was quite slow but it was very private.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel was environmentally conscious. They had on-site recycling, and low flow fixtures in the washrooms. The linens are not changed daily in order to conserve water.
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 February 2017
Thanks for your review and reccommendation Rebecca. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our gardener and the restaurant team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    82
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
226
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed in a studio which I found beautiful and comfortable and much more spacious than I had expected from looking at photos on-line. I particularly liked that the back door opened on to a small decking area with table & chairs with steps leading down to a tiny private garden area which then led onto the beautiful, well kept gardens. I found this totally charming.

The room was well equipped and I thought the provision of beach towels and spades for Hot Water Beach was really considerate and useful. We were just travelling with light trekking towels, so the beach towels were very much appreciated.

Hahei is beautiful and has a lovely beach which is easy to walk to from the accommodation. It is also a great location for visiting Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. I absolutely loved staying here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 February 2017
Hi Jane,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review :) I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our gardening team- I know they've been busy this year!.
Hope we get to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Beautiful, Clean studios and cottages. Great knowledgeable host offering lots of information on local area which helps to maximise your time. We stayed one night in studio and 1 night in self contained cottage. Both were great. No TV in studio which was nice and forced us to enjoy the lovely outdoor seating area. The self contained cottage was also disability friendly which we did not need but being a nurse it looks well appointed for a disabled person with plenty of room in bathroom for wheelchair access.
We thoroughly enjoyed our Hahei stay and it was a great way to finish in NZ.

Room Tip: Studio good for a couple but might be a little crowded with a child although there is a great common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 February 2017
Hi Michelle-
Thanks for your lovely review. It's nice to hear our suggestions were well recieved- as you can see there is so much to do here- a couple of days is barely enough!.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and would love to see you again sometime. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

We were very taken with the accommodation at the Church. Not only was it clean and tidy but it was a lovely location in well kept gardens. The person on reception was very helpful and guided us to the best time to visit Hot Water Beach and how to reach Cathedral Cove.
The restaurant was very amenable and prepared us a meal to take to our room as they were about to close.
We didn't use the sitting room but were impressed with it's size and facilities. It would be an ideal location for a weekend with a large group.
I shall dream of returning to this lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 February 2017
Hi
Thank you for your lovely review- we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass you comments on to the restaurant team and the gardening team- they'll be glad to hear your comments. We do hope we will have you stay again sometime./ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottage units. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We were impressed with the cleanliness of not only the inside but the exterior as well. The Wi-Fi in our unit, #7, was not functional but when we needed Wi-Fi we walked a short distance to the reception area where there is a large lounge area and could get a good connection. Communication from initial contact to arrival was great. It’s a short walk, 10 minutes, to the beautiful beach and you don’t have to worry about finding a parking spot. The walk to restaurants and stores in even shorter. We highly recommend this accommodation.

Green Features: They recycle, and do a number of other environmental process.
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 February 2017
HI Guys, thanks so much for your review- Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed yuour stya with us and appreciatted the hard work our cleaners do. We'll be sure to pass on your comments.
Hope to see you again sometime./ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
28.7 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Property: The Church Accommodation
Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price range (per night): $119 - $202
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing