We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Hahei Holiday Resort(Hahei)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tatahi Lodge Beach Resort(Hahei)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
319
97
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
97
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshot water beachself contained cottagehahei beacha real gemnew zealandbeautiful gardenbreakfast traypeaceful place to stayprivate verandaon siterestaurant next doorsmall kitchenettelow tidelocal areacomfy bedour night stay
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottage units. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We were impressed with the cleanliness of not only the inside but the exterior as well. The Wi-Fi in our unit, #7, was not functional but when we needed Wi-Fi we walked a short distance to the reception area where there is a large lounge area and could get a good connection. Communication from initial contact to arrival was great. It’s a short walk, 10 minutes, to the beautiful beach and you don’t have to worry about finding a parking spot. The walk to restaurants and stores in even shorter. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys, thanks so much for your review- Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed yuour stya with us and appreciatted the hard work our cleaners do. We'll be sure to pass on your comments.
Hope to see you again sometime./ :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The Church is just a really beautiful quiet property with scenic gardens, and just a very rustic vibe. It's in a good central location, within a short driving distance to hot water beach and cathedral cove (walkable). It's about ten minutes walking distance to the beach, which is gorgeous. Hahei in general is just a really peaceful, beautiful place.

Our room / cottage was very spacious, with a free parking spot located right out front. Reception is just a short walk away, and times are posted for when it is appropriate to visit both hot water beach and cathedral cove. We happened to get there just as reception was closing, but the lady at the desk was really gracious, and she showed us to our room before closing down for the night.

The room was a little bit cold when we got there (just because it was cold outside to begin with), but there is a little room heater that helps to create a bit of warmth. Wifi was not the strongest, and the room did not have a TV, so the place was more of a 'getaway' from reality than we expected. Not really a big deal since we were only there for one night.

Located right next door is a restaurant - also called the Church (and located inside an old church). The food here is excellent, and we would absolutely recommend it seeing that is a skip and a hop away from where you are staying.

Once again, this was a very beautiful place and we were glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys- thanks for your review. We'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma in reception and the guys in the restaurant. Hope fully we will see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This was my favorite place to stay over my 2 week stay in New Zealand with my wife. It has nice facilities, a beautiful garden and wonderful staff. We have a breakfast tray brought up the night before so we could have breakfast in bed before watching the sunrise at cathedral cove. I would love to go back but would stay longer and enjoy this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Hey Nick- thanks for your fantastic review! We're stoked you thought so highly of us and loved our breakfast and sunrise at the cove!. We look forward to seeing you back here another time- for a longer stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

we love this cottage so much ! good place to stay if you plan to visit hot water beach and cathedral cove. beach towel is provided. the staff is nice and the room is cozy. should stay there for more days.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank KA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our three nights in a Garden Cottage. The gardens were lovely and the cottage had everything you need. The area is just stunning. We particularly enjoyed eating at nearby Hot Waves Cafe at Hot Water Beach and the Cathedral Cove Kayak trip. Hot Water Beach was okay but a bit manic - we probably should have timed it to try and avoid a weekend. We enjoyed the short walk up to the two 'ha' at the south end of the beach and the swing at the very end of the beach. We ate at The Church Restaurant one night and it was quite good. My mussels were delicious but the place wasn't particularly atmospheric - felt like a bit of a barn inside.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Hey Sue- Thanks so much for your review and comments on our gardens- we think they are lovely as well:).
We do agree that HotWater Beach can be prety maic- our advice is to time your visit with a low tide that occurs around sunrise- that is a beautiful time to be at the beach and you're guaranteed no crowds :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews