We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Love to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We were very taken with the accommodation at the Church. Not only was it clean and tidy but it was a lovely location in well kept gardens. The person on reception was very helpful and guided us to the best time to visit Hot Water Beach and how to reach Cathedral Cove.
The restaurant was very amenable and prepared us a meal to take to our room as they were about to close.
We didn't use the sitting room but were impressed with it's size and facilities. It would be an ideal location for a weekend with a large group.
I shall dream of returning to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hi
Thank you for your lovely review- we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass you comments on to the restaurant team and the gardening team- they'll be glad to hear your comments. We do hope we will have you stay again sometime./ :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottage units. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We were impressed with the cleanliness of not only the inside but the exterior as well. The Wi-Fi in our unit, #7, was not functional but when we needed Wi-Fi we walked a short distance to the reception area where there is a large lounge area and could get a good connection. Communication from initial contact to arrival was great. It’s a short walk, 10 minutes, to the beautiful beach and you don’t have to worry about finding a parking spot. The walk to restaurants and stores in even shorter. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys, thanks so much for your review- Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed yuour stya with us and appreciatted the hard work our cleaners do. We'll be sure to pass on your comments.
Hope to see you again sometime./ :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The Church is just a really beautiful quiet property with scenic gardens, and just a very rustic vibe. It's in a good central location, within a short driving distance to hot water beach and cathedral cove (walkable). It's about ten minutes walking distance to the beach, which is gorgeous. Hahei in general is just a really peaceful, beautiful place.

Our room / cottage was very spacious, with a free parking spot located right out front. Reception is just a short walk away, and times are posted for when it is appropriate to visit both hot water beach and cathedral cove. We happened to get there just as reception was closing, but the lady at the desk was really gracious, and she showed us to our room before closing down for the night.

The room was a little bit cold when we got there (just because it was cold outside to begin with), but there is a little room heater that helps to create a bit of warmth. Wifi was not the strongest, and the room did not have a TV, so the place was more of a 'getaway' from reality than we expected. Not really a big deal since we were only there for one night.

Located right next door is a restaurant - also called the Church (and located inside an old church). The food here is excellent, and we would absolutely recommend it seeing that is a skip and a hop away from where you are staying.

Once again, this was a very beautiful place and we were glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

HI Guys- thanks for your review. We'll be sure to pass your comments onto Jemma in reception and the guys in the restaurant. Hope fully we will see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This was my favorite place to stay over my 2 week stay in New Zealand with my wife. It has nice facilities, a beautiful garden and wonderful staff. We have a breakfast tray brought up the night before so we could have breakfast in bed before watching the sunrise at cathedral cove. I would love to go back but would stay longer and enjoy this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Hey Nick- thanks for your fantastic review! We're stoked you thought so highly of us and loved our breakfast and sunrise at the cove!. We look forward to seeing you back here another time- for a longer stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

we love this cottage so much ! good place to stay if you plan to visit hot water beach and cathedral cove. beach towel is provided. the staff is nice and the room is cozy. should stay there for more days.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank KA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
436 reviews
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
9.9 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $136 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing