We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away”
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This was my favorite place to stay over my 2 week stay in New Zealand with my wife. It has nice facilities, a beautiful garden and wonderful staff. We have a breakfast tray brought up the night before so we could have breakfast in bed before watching the sunrise at cathedral cove. I would love to go back but would stay longer and enjoy this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Hey Nick- thanks for your fantastic review! We're stoked you thought so highly of us and loved our breakfast and sunrise at the cove!. We look forward to seeing you back here another time- for a longer stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    83
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
232
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

we love this cottage so much ! good place to stay if you plan to visit hot water beach and cathedral cove. beach towel is provided. the staff is nice and the room is cozy. should stay there for more days.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank KA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our three nights in a Garden Cottage. The gardens were lovely and the cottage had everything you need. The area is just stunning. We particularly enjoyed eating at nearby Hot Waves Cafe at Hot Water Beach and the Cathedral Cove Kayak trip. Hot Water Beach was okay but a bit manic - we probably should have timed it to try and avoid a weekend. We enjoyed the short walk up to the two 'ha' at the south end of the beach and the swing at the very end of the beach. We ate at The Church Restaurant one night and it was quite good. My mussels were delicious but the place wasn't particularly atmospheric - felt like a bit of a barn inside.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Hey Sue- Thanks so much for your review and comments on our gardens- we think they are lovely as well:).
We do agree that HotWater Beach can be prety maic- our advice is to time your visit with a low tide that occurs around sunrise- that is a beautiful time to be at the beach and you're guaranteed no crowds :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed at the Church Accommodation for two nights during our honeymoon in New Zealand -- and it was by far our favorite place! Our hosts were friendly and had tips about great local hikes and eats, and the property is only a short walk to beautiful Hahei Beach. We also used Hahei as a base for travels to nearby Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach -- it's all very accessible. Each room / cabin at the Church is cozy and would be a comfortable stay for families and couples alike.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Hi Jeff- thanks for your review, and for giving us your best accommodation award!
Hope you both enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in #11 cottage with fire place and it felt like we were surrounded by a beautiful rainforest :))) Anna was so helpful and kind thank you!!!

We made use of the fireplace and bought wine from the local store. Also decided to stay in and cook steak from the store. So tender and delicious :) They have everything you need to cook there as we also made our own breakfast each morning. Fyi if you are visiting from a bigger city you may want to stop to get groceries elsewhere as the one store in Hahei is a bit more expensive :P

Loved everything about this cute place and about a 10 min walk to the beach. The bed was a little soft for my liking but you cant always have everything :) would definitely come back and visit again.

Each day they write down the low tide time for hotwater beach. The have spades ans beach towels for you to borrow. How amazing!!!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Thankas for your wonderful review. How cosy is it with the woodfire during the winter- we could just curl up there for days!!
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
9.2 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Property: The Church Accommodation
Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price range (per night): $115 - $194
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing