We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Baileys at the Beach Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
313
97
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
97
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshot water beachself contained cottagehahei beachnew zealandprivate gardenbreakfast traypeaceful place to stayon sitebeautiful cottagerestaurant next doorsmall kitchenettelow tidelocal areacomfy bedlate checkthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We selected the 'house' as it was the best value for money for our group of 6 to be found in (the delightful village of) Hahei.
We arrived rather late and the house was left open for us by the very friendly management.
What a pleasant surprise! The accommodation was tastefull, spacious and spotless. The small private garden with gas barbecue was great for al fresco suppers and breakfasts.
The only let- down was the very limited wi-fi allowance.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacques W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review Jacques. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves in The House and found everything ok. With our increased internet intrastructure now complete in Hahei, we are able to offer a much more generous WIFI connection. Hope to see you back here sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

There is a big bathroom no tub but I like it .
One king bed room also has one heater as outside has .2 twin beds with television but signal is not good but I don't mind . Kitchen has all I need . Hair dryer is in bathroom' s cabinet.
The balcony has a set of 4 chair can have breakfast there . Parking is beside the cottage .
Office open from 9.30 am.to 7.00 pm.
Laundry room open after 1 pm . Because the staff have to clean all the sheets of accommodation first . You also check low tide time at the office and they have shovels for use at hot water beach . you can have dinner at the church restaurant . Enjoy your holidays.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Wanida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review and lovely photos Wanida!. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We (my husband, daughter and son-in-law) stayed a night here. The accommodation was lovely. We had a room each with a queen-size bed, a tiolet and shower. There was a table and chairs, fridge and tiny kitchenette. The best part was the private deck with views of the garden. All fittings in the room (windows, doors) were from another era, my grandparents home. In our unit there was also a leadlight window, really lovely!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks so much Arlene- it's always lovely to hear from people who notice and appreciate the touches from another era and our wonderful gardens. Hopeflly we'll see you back here sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This is third or fourth time we have stayed at The Church. Our own little piece of heaven. So quiet apart from the whoosh of the wood pigeons flying overhead in our own private garden. The cottage was perfect for the two of us although it sleeps four. Clean, even smells cleans when you walk in the french doors. Anna and Andreas (plus the others whose names I didnt get) are super friendly and full of information. We will definitely be back once again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lully2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hey guys, thanks so much!! Theres a couple of kereru hangin about outsid as I type this!. We look forward to having you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The units are very nice and clean with a little patio outside where we had our breakfast. We also had dinner at the Church; staff and food was very good. The rooms are not full sound proof but that was not an issue for us.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thanks for your review Steph- glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to the restaurant team as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews