We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long and winding road to get here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The church at the front USA restaurant independently run from the accommodation.Restaurant service is slow, the accommodation is the opposite, quick and efficient. Rooms in the main are individual timber buildings well fitted and equipped.

Room Tip: Travel adapters you cannot have enough
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deryckg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016

We selected the 'house' as it was the best value for money for our group of 6 to be found in (the delightful village of) Hahei.
We arrived rather late and the house was left open for us by the very friendly management.
What a pleasant surprise! The accommodation was tastefull, spacious and spotless. The small private garden with gas barbecue was great for al fresco suppers and breakfasts.
The only let- down was the very limited wi-fi allowance.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacques W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review Jacques. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves in The House and found everything ok. With our increased internet intrastructure now complete in Hahei, we are able to offer a much more generous WIFI connection. Hope to see you back here sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

There is a big bathroom no tub but I like it .
One king bed room also has one heater as outside has .2 twin beds with television but signal is not good but I don't mind . Kitchen has all I need . Hair dryer is in bathroom' s cabinet.
The balcony has a set of 4 chair can have breakfast there . Parking is beside the cottage .
Office open from 9.30 am.to 7.00 pm.
Laundry room open after 1 pm . Because the staff have to clean all the sheets of accommodation first . You also check low tide time at the office and they have shovels for use at hot water beach . you can have dinner at the church restaurant . Enjoy your holidays.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Wanida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks for your review and lovely photos Wanida!. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We (my husband, daughter and son-in-law) stayed a night here. The accommodation was lovely. We had a room each with a queen-size bed, a tiolet and shower. There was a table and chairs, fridge and tiny kitchenette. The best part was the private deck with views of the garden. All fittings in the room (windows, doors) were from another era, my grandparents home. In our unit there was also a leadlight window, really lovely!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks so much Arlene- it's always lovely to hear from people who notice and appreciate the touches from another era and our wonderful gardens. Hopeflly we'll see you back here sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This is third or fourth time we have stayed at The Church. Our own little piece of heaven. So quiet apart from the whoosh of the wood pigeons flying overhead in our own private garden. The cottage was perfect for the two of us although it sleeps four. Clean, even smells cleans when you walk in the french doors. Anna and Andreas (plus the others whose names I didnt get) are super friendly and full of information. We will definitely be back once again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lully2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChurchHahei, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hey guys, thanks so much!! Theres a couple of kereru hangin about outsid as I type this!. We look forward to having you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
8.9 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
28.7 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
442 reviews
5.2 km away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Road, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $142 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing