We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea kayaking”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea kayaking”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

A fun trip, challenging enough for beginners in beautiful surroundings with experienced guides. Cathedral Cove is a must visit and arriving by kayak is great.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank junie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 27 March 2017
Thanks again for kayaking with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must do!”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We had a fabulous time kayaking at Cathedral Cove! We did the classic tour in the morning. I've never kayaked before but my husband has. We were in a double kayak and it was very easy to navigate. Our guide was amazing! So funny and informative - we learnt lots about Cathedral Cove and NZ. He made us hot drinks on the beach at Cathedral Cove where we stopped for a break. Fabulous experience!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks for your generous comments Megan, great to hear you enjoyed the trip. Thanks again for kayaking with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

My friend and I had booked a three hour trip and were a bit late. I called the operator and they very really friendly, and even waited for us (in the end the tour left 25 minutes later because of us). There was a bit of a swell and high tide, so we could not land near Cathedral Cove, but the paddling was easy and the weather superb. He guide was funny and friendly and took good care that we would not get too close to the shore (risk of being rolled over by a big wave). We "sailed" a bit, too (good teamwork moment) and we stopped for a snack and tea/coffee/cappuccino break on a very nice beach. On the whole a very good experience. The only "down side" was a tiny hole in the hull of our kayak, that flooded the rear part of the semi-dry compartment. But luckily enough, we had put all sesnsitive things in extra dry bags.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank francis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks for your comments Francis, glad to hear you had such a good time and that you were well looked after by our team. All the best for the rest of your travels. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“tl;dr- You should totally go kayaking”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had so much fun on this kayaking adventure. Everyone was so friendly, the weather was wonderful, the sites were breathtaking, and they made us coffee! What's not to love? This was my favorite thing I did on my whole NZ trip so quit thinking about booking and just book already!

I'd also recommend packing a lunch and spending time on Hahei beach after the trip. It was wonderful to relax afterward.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Wow thanks for your generous comments Jenn! I'll be sure to share your review with our team, they will be delighted that you had such a good time. All the best for the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Did the Cathedral Cove classic this afternoon, such an amazing experience. I've never kayaked before but this wasn't a problem at all, kayaked over to cathedral cove where we had coffee made on the beach and time to explore, fantastic way to spend an afternoon!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Awesome, thanks Tracy, glad to hear you had such a good time! Thanks again for kayaking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing