We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing was to see Cathedral Cove”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing was to see Cathedral Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was one of our first tours in New Zealand and it set the bar high. We did the morning kayak, which was good before it got windy in the afternoon. The tour guide was great and had fantastic stories and history information on the area. We kayaked along the island through coves and then to Cathedral cove where we stopped for tea, coffee and snacks. I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks for your comments Tory, glad to hear you had such a good time on the water with us. All the best for the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kayak tour from Hahei to Cathedral Cove ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Awesome 2.5-3 hr round trip from Hahei to Cathedral Cove. Amazing way to see the coast line. Guides are great, very informative about the history of the area etc. We were able to kayak into caves along the cliffs that you can't get to by foot. Amazing scenery and plenty of time to explore and enjoy. Stop at cathedral cove allowed time for a swim and a look around as well as coffee and biscuits provided (nice unexpected touch). Would highly recommend as I can't imagine getting to see this part of the island on foot would compare. No need to have experience in kayaking and reasonably easy for beginners.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank MianaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks for your generous comments. You are right that kayaking is something almost everyone can do and arriving at Cathedral Cove from the water is an amazing experience. Thanks again for kayaking with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great morning on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great morning kayaking, thanks so much to Marky for the history, stories and the amazing hot chocolate!
A little disappointed with not being able to walk through the archway as the tide was in, but out fault for not checking the times. Could have swam of course, but was heading off immediately after so needed to stay dry. Anyway, a fantastic experience for us all, would totally recommend.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tjmazzer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
What a great review, I'll be sure to let Mark know you had a great time on the water with him. Thanks again for kayaking with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Way To Get To Cathedral Cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2017

Love everything about this trip. We did the afternoon kayak with spectacular weather. We managed a kayak sail on the way home and loved listening to our guides stories. Just do it!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks Allison, great to hear you had such a good time. All the best for the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best time ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2017

The water, the scenery - all of it was breath taking. Our tour guide was down to earth and we really had a great time. At the end, he even brewed us coffee and served us "biscuits".

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks Leslie, glad to hear you had a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing