We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak tour from Hahei to Cathedral Cove ”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Awesome 2.5-3 hr round trip from Hahei to Cathedral Cove. Amazing way to see the coast line. Guides are great, very informative about the history of the area etc. We were able to kayak into caves along the cliffs that you can't get to by foot. Amazing scenery and plenty of time to explore and enjoy. Stop at cathedral cove allowed time for a swim and a look around as well as coffee and biscuits provided (nice unexpected touch). Would highly recommend as I can't imagine getting to see this part of the island on foot would compare. No need to have experience in kayaking and reasonably easy for beginners.

Thank MianaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thanks for your generous comments. You are right that kayaking is something almost everyone can do and arriving at Cathedral Cove from the water is an amazing experience. Thanks again for kayaking with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great morning kayaking, thanks so much to Marky for the history, stories and the amazing hot chocolate!
A little disappointed with not being able to walk through the archway as the tide was in, but out fault for not checking the times. Could have swam of course, but was heading off immediately after so needed to stay dry. Anyway, a fantastic experience for us all, would totally recommend.

Thank Tjmazzer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

What a great review, I'll be sure to let Mark know you had a great time on the water with him. Thanks again for kayaking with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Love everything about this trip. We did the afternoon kayak with spectacular weather. We managed a kayak sail on the way home and loved listening to our guides stories. Just do it!

Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thanks Allison, great to hear you had such a good time. All the best for the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The water, the scenery - all of it was breath taking. Our tour guide was down to earth and we really had a great time. At the end, he even brewed us coffee and served us "biscuits".

Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thanks Leslie, glad to hear you had a great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We were taken out by Antz.
Fabulous.
He tells you how to get around obstacles...and even made a brew at cathedral cove.
I am not a fit person, but was able to partake.

Saw stingrays and a penguin.

Brilliant!

Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thanks for your comments Lee, I'll be sure to let Antz know you had such a good time on the water with him. All the best for the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing