We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time ever”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best time ever”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The water, the scenery - all of it was breath taking. Our tour guide was down to earth and we really had a great time. At the end, he even brewed us coffee and served us "biscuits".

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks Leslie, glad to hear you had a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gotta do it”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We were taken out by Antz.
Fabulous.
He tells you how to get around obstacles...and even made a brew at cathedral cove.
I am not a fit person, but was able to partake.

Saw stingrays and a penguin.

Brilliant!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thanks for your comments Lee, I'll be sure to let Antz know you had such a good time on the water with him. All the best for the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sea kayak to Cathedral Cove”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This was a fantastic morning. I had never kayaked before so was s little nervous but needn't have worried. The scenery is outstanding. Brad our guide was very knowledgeable and we all enjoyed his stories of the early settlers. He was particularly impressive with his pop up barrister skills producing cappuccinos, lattes, hot chocolate and tea from the kit he carried in his kayak. Loved the whole morning and would strongly recommend this trip.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank LinPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thanks for your comments LinPee. Great to hear you had such a good time on the water. I'll make sure Brad sees your review, no doubt he'll be delighted with your feedback. All the best for the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome way to see Cathedral Cove! ...& great coffee!”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Lovely afternoon & great way to see Cathedral Cove! Our guide was so knowledgeable &, because there was only 6 of us on the tour, the service was really personal. Only in New Zealand will you have such great coffee on a beach…who knows how they manage to magic up REAL flat whites, cappuccinos, long blacks, teas & hot chocolates (complete with barista-style decorations & cookies) from their sea kayaks, BUT THEY DO! I was travelling with my mum, who was quite nervous about sea kayaking & also recovering from a broken wrist, but the guides were very helpful & reassuring, making the experience for her an enjoyable one. We’d definitely recommend this tour to anyone, kayak experience or not!
Tip: bring plenty of sun cream!!!!!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kirst1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Many thanks for your generous comments! Great to hear you had such a good time on the water and that you were well looked after by our team. All the best for the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cathedral Cove Paddle”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Great operators! They got us to arrive for a slightly earlier departure on our day due to poor weather coming later in the day. We were split into groups of 4-5 kayaks per guide. Dry bags were provided for our phones and cameras, and the guides took photos of us as well. These tours are good for those with little or no kayaking experience. The boats are very stable, and you're given the necessary PFDs and spray skirts. We had favourable conditions so went out around some islands, landed at the Cove and were able to see plenty of stingrays beneath us. No orcas this time though. Our guide set up his Cathedral Cove Cafe on the beach and made us our choice of coffees. Amazing what he could do on a camp stove! This is much easier than the walk from Hahei beach to Cathedral Cove. Very worth doing if the weather is decent.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 23 February 2017
Many thanks for your comments Michael. Great to hear you had such a good time and that you were well looked after by our team. Thanks again for kayaking with us and all the best for the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing