We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
James M
Tauranga, New Zealand
Incredible - Have zero doubts - Book it now!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Dec 2022via mobile
Phil & Sue just get it!
I’ve travelled the world for many years visiting over 75 countries and staying in more establishments than you can imagine, but this is one of my absolute favourites from around the globe.
From the initial booking interaction with Phil, the whole experience was sublime (Book direct).
The whole facility has a calming effect the minute you walk through the door. It’s super clean, modern and welcoming.
We only stayed one night, but will definitely go back as we didn’t get chance to use the beautiful pool area and we slept so well as it’s super quiet and comfortable.
The breakfast was also incredible and the hosts were what you’d want them to be, friendly, warm and considerate.
Thank you for having us. We wish you a busy summer season, after the last couple of COVID impacted years, but no doubt you’ll be brimming with enquiry as you deserve to be!
Thank you again - James & Ellen x (17th Dec 2022)
Date of stay: December 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $231
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $138
0.5 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$205
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $205
  • Expedia.com
    $205
  • Hotels.com
    $205
0.1 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $148
0.7 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    0.5 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Priceline
    $492
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
      $280
    • Agoda.com
    4.1 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Booking.com
    $280
    • Priceline
      $280
    • Agoda.com
    4.1 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $121
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $121
    • Vio.com
      $80
    • Hotels.com
      $121
    5.3 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $311
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $311
    • Agoda.com
    5.5 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Pool
    Booking.com
    $390
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $390
    • Hotels.com
      $378
    • Expedia.com
      $378
    8.5 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Free parking
    Pool
    Booking.com
    $195
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $195
    • Vio.com
      $195
    • ZenHotels.com
    8.5 km from Hahei Bed and Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Hahei
    Reviews (195)
    Filter reviews
    195 results
    Traveller rating
    173
    11
    9
    0
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    173
    11
    9
    0
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hibiscus room cathedral cove hot water beach new zealand hosts sue beautiful property swimming pool breakfasts were excellent total privacy perfect accommodation b and b a wonderful stay local activities within walking distance wonderful home place to stay super hosts
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    28 - 33 of 195 reviews
    Reviewed 13 December 2022 via mobile

    Hahei bed and breakfast offers outstanding hosted accommodation. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and the hosts, Phil and Sue are so obliging and helpful. They make the most yummy breakfasts.
    Whilst there main market is overseas tourists, more NZers should utilise this gorgeous spot

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank robynh255
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Phillip Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2022

    Hi Robyn, Thank you for your review, we are grateful for your possible feedback and encouragement of kiwis to try hosted accomodation. Thanks Phil & Sue

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 December 2022 via mobile

    If we could give it more than 5 stars we would! My wife and I stayed 3 nights during our honeymoon and could not have been happier with our time there. The rooms were very comfortable and super clean. Phil and Sue were extremely welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure our time in Hahei was enjoyable despite the rain. The environment made it easy to mingle with the other guests. Plus Phil’s breakfasts were delicious! We really hope we can come back one day.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Voyage773999
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Phillip Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2022

    Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us 'despite the rain'. Maybe we will see you again one day when the sun is shining (as it mostly does here :-).
    Best wishes Sue & Phil

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2022

    We truly enjoyed an amazing experience visiting Hahei and the wonderful hospitality from Phil and Sue. Bed was super comfortable and the landscaping was just gorgeous! Amenities were top notch and plentiful. Location is perfect, just across the road from the Cathedral Cove shuttle bus stop and visitor parking lot. Very short walk to neighborhood restaurants, general store, and famous Hahei Beach. The breakfast was a hearty feast! Parking on site. Really appreciated the drop off at the Cathedral Cove trailhead after our stay!

    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank DaveAH6HY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2022

    Thank you for your kind review Dave, we appreciate the feedback. Best wishes for you tour through New Zealand.
    Regards
    Phil & Sue

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 October 2022 via mobile

    Beautiful place to stay in! Sue and Phil are super hosts; very kind and friendly! They were also very helpful, guiding us to best sight seeing and restaurants! Breakfast was simply delicious! Everything was clean and the room was decorated so elegantly!

    Only praise for this accommodation! 🥰

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Coastal260319
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2022

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you both.
    regards
    Sue & Phil

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

    We spent only one night here but since the moment we arrived it was like to stay in a family!
    Phil and Sue are really kind and availble for every needs you have. They help us to reach Cathedral Cove car park.
    Breakfast...simply fabouls; fresh friut, pancake etc..is cocked by Sue and Phil!
    Only one night but really really super! It is a real relaxing and lovely B&B!

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Robottino82
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2022

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you felt like family and enjoyed your stay with us.
    Regards
    Phil & Sue

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews