We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
118
11
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
11
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral cove hibiscus room hot water beach hosts phil new zealand highly recommend this b b three night stay big room excellent breakfast beautiful property muesli amazing hosts would highly recommend staying here great company lovely restaurant short walk to the beach great coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2020

We stayed three nights in this absolutely lovely B&B at the edge of Hahei. We had a large, lovely, bright, comfy and thoughtfully decorated room with a small fridge, coffee and tea facilities (with daily replenished cookies and chocolate bars), private WC and terrace looking out into a perfectly manicured tropical garden. There is pool if you feel the need after an ocean swim and close by is the excellent café nd restaurant „The Church“ in a former... church, of course. Sue and Phil were the hosts you wish and long for: friendly, always ready for a chat, helpful with advice and maps. And they do prepare a great breakfast with choice of eggs and bacon or waffles, with muesli, fresh fruits, smoothie, toast and jams. It’s taken together with other guests (there are few rooms) in the living room area at a large table. So, you can even make new friends! We would have loved to stay longer, but it was our final destination before the pre-Corona flight back on one of the very last regular connections.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2020

Hi Andreas, thank you for your review. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our local attractions and amenities. We are also pleased you made it home safely to bunker down to beat this Coronavirus, hopefully the world has now reached the peak of this pandemic and we can all get back to some normality over time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2020

We arrived at this wonderful place during the Corona outbreak.
We were greeted by Phil and Sue and immediately made to feel very welcome during a time of great uncertainty.
Our room was wonderful (Hibiscus) and we only wished our stay could have been longer. Instead it was cut short as the advice from our travel agent was to get to Auckland and prepare to return to the UK.
Sue and Phil invited us to eat our evening with them as local restaurants had already been ordered to close.
They also helped secure us a hotel in Auckland and treated us with the utmost kindness throughout our short stay.
How we wish we could have stayed longer. We did manage a walk to the local beach and to Cathedral Cove and absolutely fell in love with this beautiful region.
It really was the best little spot in our whole North Island tour.
Thanks again for all your kindness and good luck for next season as your B&B is truly wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and very much enjoyed.
Thankfully we made it home safely during a difficult and uncertain time. Very much eased by your kindness and reassurance.
We’ll never forget our little stay here.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 608julieb608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, very comfortable Hibiscus Room with sofas, deck and very comfortable beds. Phil and Sue were excellent hosts, mines of information on the local area. Excellent breakfast - highly recommend their hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to host you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The world has changed a lot since your stay with us (Coronavirus) so we hope you are ok and back safe in your home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

We visited late Feb and stayed in the Hibiscus Room which was roomy and comfortable and had a lovely deck and access to the pool. Great location short walk to the beach, a lovely restaurant and cafes and bar. Phil and Sue were amazing hosts, helpful with local knowledge and served a great breakfast. Enjoyed chatting with other guests who all seemed to be enjoying the accomodation as much as us.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Hahei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020

My husband and I recently traveled to NZ from the USA for the first time, and the hospitality we received at Hahei B&B made it the most special part of our trip. Sue and Phil treated us like family, providing shovels, towels, a beach bag and chilled waters for our foray to the nearby Hot Water Beach, where we dug in the sand to create our own spa. They were happy to give directions to an easy pick up point for our glass bottomed boat and snorkeling afternoon, and were helpful in making dinner reservations for us each evening at their favorite restaurants.

We happened to travel just as fear of the Corona virus was spreading across the world, and meeting other couples at the morning breakfast table to compare stories and perspectives was a comfort. Phil and Sue’s delicious, healthy breakfast overlooking their lovely outdoor space was a perfect way to begin each day.

Between their kindness and the beauty of the area, this was definitely our favorite stop on our tour of the North Island.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DonnaBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil Ander, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular felt like you were treated like family. The Coronavirus is now having a significant and tragic impact, we hope you are safe and healthy in your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews