We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
82
11
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
11
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool hot water beach cathedral cove mr and mrs smith charming hosts frittata b bs local attractions dinner options local pub within walking distance loved staying here stayed here for one night beautiful property our honeymoon two night stay places to visit
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

After heading over to the Coromandel from Auckland, as only the start of the season we hadn't booked anything ahead. After a wonderful drive over the mountains and a fantastic time visiting Cathedral Cove we began to look for somewhere to stay. It was just after 7pm and there was no obviouse places with room available. We found Hahei Bed and Breakfast by chance and so glad that we did. Louise gave us a wonderfully warm welcome and settled us into the 2 rooms upstairs. As it was getting late she even booked us into dinner at the Church Restaurant at the end of the street. Great food and a really nice atmosphere!

The rooms were wonderfully decorated, welcoming and bright. The beds are very comfortable and we all had a great nights sleep. It was amazing to wake up in the morning with the mist down on the mountains, absolutely stunning... Louise treated us to a great breakfast in the morning and have to agree with other reviewers, absolutely 5 star! We were off to hot water beach that day and then down to Taupo and even though we were leaving Louise insisted we take some of her shovels to save on hiring, as long as we dropped them back before hitting the road. As we left we all agreed that we wished we were staying on a few more days as it was so welcoming, relaxing and comfortable.

When we come back to NZ we will definitely be looking to stay here again and told everyone we met on our journey, its the best place to stay at the Coromandel :)

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Collins1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you come back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B. Robin and Louise were so welcoming, warm and friendly. They talked to us about the things we wanted to do in Hahei, and offered unbiased tips and recommendations, as well as offering help and support with our chosen activities.

Our room was comfortable, spacious and decorated beautifully. We were served a delicious five-star breakfast both mornings and could chose if we wanted to have this in our room or outside on the deck or by the relaxing swimming pool.

The setting of this B&B is lovely - spacious private gardens with trees and birds singing - it was so relaxing! But also close enough to walk to the beach, shops and Cathedral Cove.

So, overall we had a great time and this is definitely somewhere I would stay again. A lovely and relaxing place, comfortable rooms, beautiful setting, but I think the best part for us was Robin and Louise who welcomed us into their home.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maya08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased it came up to your expectations and we would welcome you back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

We just stayed with Louise and Robin last night as part of our honeymoon. They treated us like family. We felt so warmly welcomed! We ran into some bad weather and our room was so cozy and welcoming. Breakfast was so delicious. Chatting with Louise and Robin was awesome. We would come back here anytime!

Room tip: Try to get the Hibiscus Room!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BNadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

It was absolutely our pleasure, we are so happy we could help make your honeymoon and trip to NZ memorable, safe travels. You are most certainly welcome back anytime.
Robin & Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Stayed here for one night, location was good. Close to catherdral cove and hot water beach. Only 2 restaurants in this town, of which one was closed the night we were there.

Hosts were very friendly, very chatty. As on our honeymoon they gave us what was a gift of sparking wine and a moisturiser. Thought this was a lovely gesture and thought. HOWEVER they then proceeded to charge us for this on our bill!! I thought this was incredibly cheeky!

Hosts made us breakfast in the morning, which was very nice. Room was lovely, bed comfy and bathroom nice. Would recommend others to stay here.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dilishap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Thank you so much for your thoughts on your stay with us, we enjoyed having you here as part of your honeymoon.
We do need to point out that the wine and moisturiser were provided as a result of a request from your husband. We were happy to do so but had said there would be a minimum cost and that is why it was attached to the bill, all normal business practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Hahei Bed & Breakfast for two nights in November 2015. It was one of the best accommondations of our journey. The hosts Louise and Robin were so nice and helped us with reservations for dinner and advices for a nice boat trip and many other things. We couldn't believe, that they were running this business for just a few months. We had our breakfast at the nice pool with egg muffins, toast and some other delicious homemade specialities. Our room had an ensuite bathroom and was very spacious and well decorated. If we will come back to New Zealand, we will definetly stay here again! Thanks to the hosts and greetings from Germany :-)

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Absolutely our pleasure having you stay with us, greetings from us both and have a Merry Xmas
Louise & Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews