We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just about perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Stainless steel oven and microwave have been installed since thi
Stainless steel oven and microwave have been installed since thi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wailea, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KristinaM...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We rented this 2-bedroom unit over spring break. We have 3 elementary school-aged children.
ROOMS
Master: Very large and comfortable. Nice big window overlooking lawn. Excellent bed with good quality linens. Toilet in its own space for privacy. Shower/tub was having a problem draining. Lots of counter space in the bathroom. Clost in the bathroom contains lots of great beach stuff. When we stayed there a few of the chairs had torn handles/straps, making them difficult to carry, but not a big deal.
Second: Decent size with a swing door and also the option of sliding open the louvred doors that serve as a wall to along the hall. My kids chose to have the sliding louvred door open pretty much all the time
MAIN BATH:
I never really used it; small but not too small. Shower only.

LIVING/DINING:
Very spacious and comfortable. Floor to ceiling sliding doors and windows allow for a lot of airflow, as do the bifold windows in the kitchen.
KITCHEN:
Well stocked with decent dishes, cookware and utensils. Unlike many rentals, they have things like coffee filters, dish soap, paper toweling - these little things make a big difference to your comfort and feeling like you have everything you need. One weird thing is that there wasn't a broom in the rental area- it was in the owner cupboard (which we discovered had a broken lock when my 6-year old just opened it and asked for some of their stuff). We left the owner's belongings alone, but we did make use of the broom. How you are supposed to rent a place for over a week with kids and never sweep is beyond me. We used the oven, microwave, stovetop, fridge and dishwasher, and all were working as expected.

LANAI
We sat out on the lanai one night for dinner with friends over (kids inside, adults outside), and the eating area was pleasant and the bifold kitchen windows were handy. The lanai also has 2 loungers, which we most never used.
POOL
The pool is a bit small, but it is nice - sunny and clean with an attached hottub. There is a changeroom/restroom/cabana area there as well. The pool does have a lot of rules (see my Hawaii 2011 review) but unlike the last Hawaiian place we stayed in, people are pretty casual about them. My kids swam and laughed and splashed without being shushed or chastised, but we also didn't push it by allowing them to run or jump in or throw balls (not that we had any)

LOCATION
The location was perfect for us - we were attending a wedding at the Grand Wailea, so this was nice and close by. We were able to drive a short way to 3 or 4 different beautiful beaches, but we're also only a few minutes away from delicious cinnamon buns from the cinnamon roll place. Palms is on a hill, so if you are a jogger there is no getting around doing some hill training -you just have to decide when in your route you want the incline. The complex is removed from the Kihei strip, so it's pretty quiet, but still close by. Just realize that if you want to get groceries from Costco, you should try and do it when you arrive, because Costco is basically beside the airport, so it's a good couple of hours to drive back by the airport, shop, and then return to Wailea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelownaMi...
Kelowna
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We are just finishing up our stay at the Palms 1902. We thought the layout was great although the wall of shutters for the second bedroom doesn't do a lot for noise level in the mornings. We did have a problem with ants in the kitchen. The appliances are extremely dated, and the fridge is missing at least one shelf so you have to stack everything in the crisper and pile up. The kitchen is fairly well supplied, although more wine glasses would be nice. The dryer needs to be used when you are out for the day. It's deafening! There is a great selection of beach equipment, towels, don't buy anything!! Having your own BBQ is wonderful a rare treat on Maui. Lots of linens provided, and the air conditioning works great. Road noise is an issue, as is the noise from the unit beside, if you are a light sleeper you may struggle. Loved the proximity to the pool which was warm and clean, and a lot less rules and more child friendly than other places we have stayed at. We had some issues with wifi but it was mostly functioning fine. We booked 4 units here this trip for our family and overall we have enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCSBlaine...
Blaine, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could of been better.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

It was my 1st time renting a condo, typically We have stayed at the resorts. The condo made sense since my husband and I were sharing a place with my in-laws. The condo itself was a great layout and well stocked for beach outings. Why I only gave it 3 stars and I am not sure I would recommend it: mold in coffee grinder, which once clean did not work properly, bedding did not have allergy covers, so a trip to Walmart was needed so I could sleep and breath , wi-fi did not work, when asked for help given instructions on how to reset the unit tried, failed gave up, some of the beach equipment is falling apart needs replaced, hand prints on curtains from prior travelers. It needs a through cleaning and a few hundred dollars spent on little things. We loved our vacation and all of these things were annoying but the location and layout was terrific.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & layout
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliic1
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great group/family or even just relaxing couple condo living. Great location, beautifully appointed apartment”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Went with partner and brother & mum, got the 2 bedroom condo unit 4, and was impressed as soon as we walked in. Beautifully appointed, very comfortable, air con & fans in every room, kitchen was fully equipped - just like a dream holiday condo or very clean home away from home! Our whole group was happy & very comfy. The rooms were huge, kitchen very big & very comfy sofas area and lanai was well furnished!
We didn't get a view of the golf course (which may have been nicer) but had a private look out over bush and garden. The only downer - the closer pool was under renovation ... so we just didn't use the pools at all and headed for the beautiful beaches instead!
It is located at top of WAilea so is quiet yet walking distance away from WAilea Shops and a few restaurants ... so very convenient. Especially if you have a car - free parking spot.
I think we booked through privately owned apartments so every apartment will be different in the same complex ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, furnishing, good value, location
Liked least: Pool, no views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huffman , Tx, USA
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing