We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of El Nido (The Nest)

Floating in the pool....Life is good!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floating in the pool....Life is good!
Views from the Terrace El Nido (It is difficult to picture!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Floating in the pool....Life is good!
Views from the Terrace
El Nido (It is difficult to picture!)
Upper Terrace
The Pool at night
The Pool
Master Bedroom
Private Terrace to Master Bedroom
En-suite to Master Bedroom
Sitting Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Family Shower Room
Bedroom 2
Lower Terrace
Bedroom 3 (lower level)
Bathroom (lower Level)
Sitting/dining/kitchen (lower level)
One of the views from the terrace
Garage Entrance
The lower terrace
Secret Terrace
View from the Master Bedroom's terrace
Sun Rise from the Terrace
Local Beach
In the old Part of town
The old town
The old Town
A Florist
Spices at the local market
One of the may fish counters at the local market
Traditional dresses still for sale in the village
The old town
By the sea
There are still some traditional fishermen in the town
El Penon del Santo in Almunecar
Velilla beach
View from the sitting room
The sun rise from the upper terrace
The Pool
The Pool
The stairs leading down to the house
The car's view from the garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Almunecar, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travelrag...
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our first trip to Spain and I booked El Nido for a week with friends to celebrate our birthdays. Everything about our stay was wonderful from the moment we stepped on to the terrace to our regretful departure. The view from the terrace is beyond beautiful. It was so peaceful having a cup of coffee, watching the sunrise over the hills across the water that it was hard to get ourselves up and about. The villa was exactly as shown in the pictures and is generally well equipped and spacious, it had everything we needed to prepare our breakfasts before long day of exploring. Almunecar was a great location for day trips to Granada and along the coast.
You could not ask for a better host, Ana was great and very quick to respond from our initial contact through our farewell email.
I would not hesitate to recommend El Nido to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ana and the view from the terrace.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope the rest of your trip around Europe was as good, if not better, than your stay at El Nido in Almunecar.
Please come back any time. I feel fortunate to have such nice guests enjoying themselves in my house.
All the best,
Ana
P.S. Remember to try not to work too hard ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy K
Silkeborg, Denmark
2 reviews
“Noting beats the view!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It shouldn't be possible to read all the reviews of El Nido and still be positively surprised - but you will be!

Ana (the owner) is fantastic, everything from booking to arrival and departure was perfect.

The view is by far the best we have ever seen - you will never get tired of it.

The house is nice and clean. The downstairs appartment provides good privacy for two or more families travelling together. The areas is nice and quiet.

Can only recommend booking this house as often as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind words.
We also fell in love with the view many years ago and never tire of it!
I love that nice people like you get to enjoy the view and the house too.
I look forward to welcoming you back to El Nido any time.

Thank you! All the best,
Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy S
Old Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautuful villa, spectacular views, helpful owner.”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Villa was absolutely amazing. We celebrated my 50th birthday with close family.
It was clean, comfortable and well equipped with all we could have needed. Thank you for the cake and Cava Ana!
we even had a delay with the flight which meant we did not arrive until about 2am, but Angelita and her family came to find us to get us to the villa safely, although a little stressed!
The views were super and we watched the sun rise over breakfast most mornings.
There are lots of steps and a steep hill down to lots of bars and restaurants and a great ice cream parlour! My mum and dad are in there 70s and walked down most days, but phoned fora taxi back up the hill, this was 6euros and all of the drivers knew the villa.
From the fantastic service from Ana with the initial enquiry through to all of the help and guidance along the way we could not have wished for more. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. Cannot wait to go back......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and helpfulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for enjoying El Nido and choosing it to celebrate one of your significant birthdays! I am very happy that you all had a good time.
I would be delighted to have you back any time.
Thank you very much for reviewing El Nido and for saying such nice things about me!
All the best,
Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaAvala...
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Villa”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We should have known how El Nido would have turned out given how helpful and quick Ana was to deal with our queries and emails. She could not have offered any more assistance than she did, even to answering phone calls when needed!

The villa is amongst a group of villas a little walk away from Almunecar. The walk down the hill into town was fine with young children/teenager but the youngest grumbled a little walking back up. But it's a walk that's perfectly manageable. The view from the villa is stunning, particularly first thing in the morning and last at night with the moon rising across the bay and the lighthouse in the distance.

Both villas (we hired both) were clean and tidy before we arrived and were well-equipped and very comfortable. Everything was set up for a trouble-free and relaxing stay. The pool was cleaned twice a week and, again, the pool area was perfect...enough loungers with a palm tree for shade.

We found a car was necessary, simply for days away to Granada, Nerja and Mini Hollywood. But our children also loved Aqua Tropic and we spent a couple of days there, particularly with the half price on next visit/children go free tickets you can pick up at the park or about the town. The festival was great fun over the week and the beaches, though busy in the morning, thin out over the afternoon and are clean and the water is warm.

All in all, a fantastic and relaxing holiday. It was a shame to have to come home and leave the heat.

Thanks again to Ana...beautiful villa, great location and a new standard for customer service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ana's helpfulness...just the best person to deal with regarding the rental.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you very much, firstly, for having such a great time at El Nido, and secondly, for writing such a lovely review about the house and myself!. With guests like you, who wouldn't want to give you as good a service as you could possibly get! You have been a pleasure to deal with and I think of myself as really lucky that you chose my house to spend your holiday in.
Please come back!
All the very best,
Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to have you at El Nido and I would be more than happy to have you and your family in my house any time.
Have a great rest of the summer.
All the best,
Ana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing