We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,069)
Filter reviews
2,069 results
Traveller rating
662
785
402
140
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
785
402
140
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view ambassador lounge animation team air con cheeky monkey pool area adult pool family pool the bus salt water sea water sunday lunch walk in shower plenty of choice evening entertainment big hotel plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 2,069 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Located on a busy road in the rather downmarket development of Qawra, this large hotel features good food. There's always plenty of buffet variety, and we always found things we enjoyed. The style is generally Mediterranean with an Italian influence. The main restaurant is large, noisy, and busy. There is another restaurant which you have to book, and although the buffet food is just about the same, it is quieter and the chairs are more comfortable.
If you pay extra for a sea view, the view is indeed very nice, but expect traffic noise and diesel fumes. Side sea views will mostly let you look at buildings next door. I am glad we chose a high floor at the much quieter rear, looking over the undistinguished buildings of Qawra, and getting afternoon sun.
Rooms are medium sized, and we had comfortable beds, a small bathroom with a good walk-in shower, but not quite enough storage space for our clothes, although the bedroom could easily have accommodated a few drawers. And why no hooks on the back of the bathroom door?
Oh, the drinks. If you have all-inclusive, you get unlimited, low-quality wine on draught at meals -- I didn't see people drinking much of this. Beer, a light lager, was a better choice. In the hotel's one bar, you got large, weak drinks, imitating spirits and cocktails. You can buy branded drinks at below UK pub prices, and we mostly did that. The barman seemed to dislike his job, and he could have done with some help at busy times. The bar is a bare space with hard chairs, where we didn't want to spend much time.
Hotel staff were almost all cheerful, polite, and helpful, and the hotel seemed clean and well-maintained. There's a small swimming pool and sea-view bar open in daytime.

Room tip: Best views at front, quietest at rear, higher floors.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bernardino87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at AX Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for the review and encouraging rating - we are glad you liked the choice of food on the buffet and that you were satisfied with the room allocated for you.

We are happy to read your comments about almost all our staff.

Hopefully all of your experience in Malta was as good.

We send warm regards from Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

My partner and I visited this hotel in our trip to Malta in July 2017.

It was disappointing. The hotel is very dated looking inside, as are the rooms. Despite the claims it is a 4* hotel, it is more like a 3* or possibly even less, and is nothing like the 4* hotels we have visited in the past. Maybe the standards are different in different countries. If you are fine staying in a 3* hotel and you are looking for a mediocre experience, you might be OK here, but it was not the experience we were expecting on our couples holiday - especially considering the price we paid.

Our main issues:
+ Not enough staff at the reception desk, took ages to check out!
+ The pool bar which serves food doesn't always serve food at the advertised hours, we were turned away once.
+ We were given dirty room towels on more than one occasion and unclean sheets.
+ The food was OK, tolerable, but there were times where they served inedible food such as lamb that was cooked for so long that it was completely tough and dried out.
+ The cocktails are just overly sweet syrupy liquid, served in cheap plastic cup. I felt like my teeth were going to decay drinking them! The better cocktails are not in the all-inclusive deal.
+ No bottled water provided in the rooms, which we found very unusual, in our experience we have always been provided with bottled water on arrival in our rooms or at least when the rooms are cleaned.
+ You have to walk under the road to get to the pool, it's just built in such a way that requires a lot of walking. Going to your room to get some sun-cream from the pool will take about 15 minutes. The lifts are slow too.

We checked the TripAdvisor reviews before coming and felt confident about our stay. I don't know how the place got so many positive reviews, perhaps this is not a couples place and we made a mistake in booking. Nevertheless, dirty towels and sheets are no excuse.

Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here, we didn't really have a good experience in the hotel. We paid a lot of money to stay here which was disappointing - we've spent the same price in different hotels and had a far more luxury experience!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DoItForTheCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at AX Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We thank you for your input - almost a year has passed since your stay. Whilst of course guest comments are subjective, it is worth seeing that the majority of guests give positive comments.

You are right, dirty towels and sheets is a no go - however when and should this happen, we have to be informed immediately so that the housekeeper explores what happened.

The tunnel under the street, taking to the pool and the sea, is only 15metres long and in actual fact makes it easier and above all safer to cross. Large resort hotels like ours and like most of the hotels up north have larger grounds, larger pools, larger everything.

We hope the rest of your stay in Malta was up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

i keep going back great food great staff and a good selection of food and drinks, i just like the place, great pool great night life loads to see around the area, go into bugeba a great place at night like picadilly does not seem to clos

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank gpw1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at AX Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

A great big thanks for the excellent rating and encouraging comments, about food and of course our staff. Of course reading comments like yours is very rewarding for our very hard working staff - not everybody appreciates or at best takes their efforts for granted.

We hope you will consider returning soon and send sunny regards from Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here the first week in April, 6 adults ranging from 80s to 20s. We all had rooms facing inland which had the advantage of afternoon sun on the balconies which were quite a sun trap. Rooms were fine, spacious with free safe. No probs with the WiFi which worked great. Six lifts meant never had a problem getting to and from our rooms. Breakfast was served until 11am and we enjoyed being able to have a longer lie in than is usual. Food was plentiful, perhaps a lack of fresh fruit as this was mainly apples and kiwi but plenty of eggs, bacon, cheese, meat, breads, rolls, cereals etc. Lunch and dinner usually only one choice of soup and lots of meat, pasta, salad choices. We sat by the pool a few days although it was a bit windy but enjoyed watching the waves lapping onto the rocks. We found reception staff and guest relations staff to be very pleasant and our request for a fan for the room was quickly dealt with. We never had a problem getting on the buses outside the hotel, we tended to go out just after lunch, and managed to explore Valletta, Mdina and Gozo. Fares are cheap and buses ran to time, there’s an app you can download which gives buses in real time locations. There is a prom which takes to round the bay and is a lovely walk. The main bus station is only 7 mins walk and is surrounded by shops and bars. We tended to stay in the hotel in the evening in the bar and yes the seats are plastic and could perhaps be enhanced. Bar staff were lovely and got to know our regular orders ! Evening entertainment was Elvis singer and then some keyboard singers but the men in our group were more engrossed in the live football games ! All in all an acceptable hotel in a quieter part of the island but still well placed for touring Malta.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank stuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at AX Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We would like to thank you for the detailed review, which gives information to future guests. Of course we are delighted to read your comments concerning our friend desk as well as guest relations staff.

Your review is especially good as a guide line as your group consisted of persons with absolutely different ages.

We send sunny regards from Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This hotel is what it is as they say, all types of people from all walks of life!.

Food excelent but served at room temperature as is the custom in Malta, choice good but basic, includes chips at breakfast!

Staff helpful and triendly with clean rooms and a good number of lifts.

The only two faults:-

No hand sanitisers either at reception or entering the dining room, bars and other food service areas, most hotels have these now to combat the novovirus.

Very little provision in either food or drinks to accpmodate type 2 diabetes controlled by diet which is how this condition is usually initially treated now.

Diet cola and sprite available but not mixers such as tonic or diet Kinnie and some days every dish on the dinner buffet apart from the fresh salad items had either a grain or carbohydrate added to them so off the menu for diabetics, even the soup had potato in it!

Fresh vegetables limited or non existant so nothing to replace the off limits rice, potato and pasta with.

Same with the desserts, all cakes and pastries with a very limited choice of fruit (apples, oranges and Kiwi fruit) no melon even at breakfast and the pineapple and "fresh fruit salad" having come from a tin so loaded with sugar.

Sweeteners low calorie but still contained carbohydrate, happily I had brought my own, i'm wise to that one now.

The other annoying feature is that the electricity turns off by motion sensor once you leave the room so no good trying to charge yout tablet or 'phone while you are out during the day or even over night when you are asleep, no good taking your own plug in travel alarm either because that also switches off, total madness!

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Jackie-Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludgarda S, Director of Sales at AX Seashells Resort at Suncrest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We thank you for reviewing our hotel and for the excellent rating.

Indeed there are no sanitizers in the reception, bar or restaurant, however there are bathrooms right next to each.

As for guests with particular dietary requirements, we encourage our guests to let us know in advance, so that the chef can prepare some items - guests are requested to talk to the restaurant supervisor during their stay.

Of course a big thanks goes for your comment concerning our staff.

Keep the good spirit up.
We send sunny regards from Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews