We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$89
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$169
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$131
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gillieru Harbour Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$194
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arzella Rooms(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
285
563
356
166
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
563
356
166
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexis meylaqself cateringguest relations managerheritage trailroman roadmini martbus stopxemxija baythe penthouseone bedroom apartmentreception staffquiet holidaybus servicewinter breakhired a carpoolside barvisit malta
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Pro
+ location
+ the 2 British receptionist especially madlaine/megan with the red glasses are adorable and very helpful and friendly

Con
- worst breakfast ever experienced, not eat able
- there is only one salt bowl for the whole restaurant and everyone has to grab it with his fingers and too many pepper shakers
- studio was only cleaned once during the whole week, the garbage in our room was therefore very smelly
- air conditioning cannot be adjusted
- kitchen facilities in studio are without oil and salt, so you have to buy 1kg and throw the rest away
- the hotel is a bit run down and needs renovation


Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Sales & Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review .

Thank you for nice compliments to our reception staff and for finding our location good. Unfortunately you couldn't feel the same way with the restaurant. If you were not satisfied with the the food, would have been best to mention it directly to our restaurant Manager.

As for the self-catering cleaning problem, should you have spoken to us whilst in-house we would have moved you to a standard room, which is not self-catering and has daily cleaning. The Air conditioning is set with a timer. One can order a food pack on arrival with basic items however we do not provide oil or salt, etc in the apartments for free, however you will have kitchen utensils and appliances. All the above is clearly stated on our website.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Guest Relations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Excellent apartment, well equipped with lovely views over the bay. However it would have been nice to have had supplied with washing up liquid, dishcloths etc.Very clean with excellent daily service, towels changed every day.
Only used restaurant once where dinner range was limited, three soups on menu and only one available. Poor slow service so did not use it again. However excellent restaurant nearby at bottom of the approach hill,, used every night.
Nice pool but limited food and drink facilities
Generally apart from catering, very good visit..

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking bay on upper floor
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Helene,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our 3 star Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, Malta. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative is highly valuable to us. We truly appreciate your thoughts in regards to the restaurant food and the washing liquid.

We hope, that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Guest Relations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I stayed here in November last year and it certainly turned out to be a good choice of hotel. They did very good food for all meals and have a very nice bar. You can get a wonderful view from (some of) the bedrooms and the staff provide a very good service.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Robert,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel. It is always a pleasure to hear, that our guest enjoyed their stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Guest Relations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Nice budget hotel. A bit of a mixed bag with the reception staff. First night we stayed in the lady was very curt and didn't make a good first impression. But the day after the reception staff where lovely and went out of there way to help. Pool and room where lovely. Mini mart was over priced but that was to br expected, had a good selection and the passion fruit juice they sold was lovely!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Emily,

Thank you very much for choosing our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel for your recent stay in Malta and for taking the time to write a feedback.

We regret that one of our Team members did not meet with your expectations upon your arrival. However, we are very pleased to hear that even though, you had a comfortable stay with us and we are delighted to hear that the rest of our Team members made such a great impression on you.

We hope, that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our 3 star Aparthotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Guest Relations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times. Rooms nice and clean and staff always very cheerfull. Ate out every night but did have breakfast which me and my son found to be quite sufficent all be it not exactly a full english. Hired a car and malta is so easy to drive and navigate around what with most road signs being written in english. Anyway not a top of the range hotel but as i say perfectly good enough to use as a base to sleep and eat in reasonable comfort. Used indoor small pool and the small gym a few times. Nice outdoors pool but not used by us.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for choosing our Porto Azzurro Aparthotel for your recent stay with your son in Malta and for taking the time to write a feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, cheerfull and helpful service. We have forwarded your kind words to our staff.

If you are planning to visit Malta again, we would be happy to accommodate you again at the Porto Azzurro Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Guest Relations & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews