We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,828)
Filter reviews
1,828 results
Traveller rating
238
471
476
285
358
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
471
476
285
358
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool viewfresh towelsentertainment every nightthe ritzbad reviewsplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaycleaned dailypromenade
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,828 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Upon arrival we were disappointed with the location of the hotel as it was located in a very run down area of St Paul's Bay. Discussions with a local shopkeeper opposite the hotel later in the week revealed that this area contained a local population of over 100 nationalities had the highest crime rate in Malta and was home to numerous on street drug dealers and prostitutes.
Our initial room on the second floor was awful, overlooking a street piled high with domestic rubbish which had not been collected, a very tiny balcony worn out furniture, non functioning plumbing and very poor and hard beds. We advised our courier that we were not prepared to stay in this room for more than one night.
The following day we negotiated what was supposed to be a Superior Room on the fifth floor for an additional payment of 200 Euros. We had two bedrooms a much larger balcony the furniture and bathroom were an improvement but the beds were still hard and uncomfortable, neither of the two patio doors locked and the air con did not work, (we were told they did not switch it on until the end of June).
The room was served by a very small lift, full of graffiti, which broke down frequently. As I am disabled this resulted in the dining room staff bringing our meals to our room during one of these breakdowns.
The food in the restaurant was well cooked and of good quality but with a limited choice, the dinners were much better than the breakfasts which were very repetitive and boring.
We were all inclusive and found all the bar staff excellent, The evening entertainment was very good but again very repetitive if you were staying for two weeks.
All the staff we encountered during our stay were helpful and friendly. The hotel charges high rates for all add ons, room safe 3.5 Euros per day, remote control for TV 10 Euros deposit, Wi Fi 15 Euros for a card valid for 5 days, but no refund offered when it failed to work much of the time (not under their control as card issued by another company), we spent 45 Euros on this alone during our stay. Should you wish to hire a car, forget it, the hotel claims on their website that they have private parking you will find out on arrival that they do not. On street parking around the hotel is impossible as it is always taken up by locals.
All in all what we paid for this holiday (Mercury Holidays) we could have stayed in far better hotels in this town where we have stayed before.I would therefore recommend if you wish to stay in this area you search around, as there are far better hotels in St Paul's Bay for similar money.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Rayad45,

Thank you for your taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

We are pleased that you were pleased with the service as well as the food

The hotel is situated in a residential area which unfortunately sometimes leads to noise.

WIFI, safety deposit boxes are advertised as being against payment. with regards to parking, the information in brochures/websites states that there is public parking available around the hotel but not that the hotel has its own parking area.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We'd never been to Malta before so as a treat we decided to try a week at San Pawl Hotel. Upon arrival, even though it was almost 2am, the welcome was polite and helpful from the night staff. Our room was spacious, clean and undamaged so we quickly unpacked and went to bed. We had no problem sleeping as it was very quiet. We found issues with the shower which at best was little more than a trickle and my back was stiff from the very hard unforgiving bed. The breakfasts were good, bacon and scrambled eggs one day, sausages and fried eggs the next day throughout the week. There was optional cold meats, cheeses, salads etc although why people want to eat chocolate cakes for breakfast still baffles me! The pool is adequate and serves a purpose and there was never any problem with sunbeds. Apart from breakfast we didn't dine here so I cannot comment on the meals. However, the much publicised pizzeria was closed during the entire stay. Regular free and easy entertainment was also on offer but again we didn't want to listen to the Buble-type repertoires etc. The only difficulties we encountered was the lack of action from the night staff on Saturday and Sunday nights between 12 midnight and 2am, when , I'm sad to say, noisy Brits were shouting, talking loudly, swearing and laughing like inmates from a mental home. I thought that it would be just one night but on the second night I complained to the night staff and after 20 minutes or so the Brits moved off. I brought this to the attention of the night staff on the Monday and I was told, "no more noise, it's sorted out!" True enough, it was but why it wasn't sorted earlier as the area was overlooked by CCTV wasn't explained. As for toiets, they were fairly clean but no washing facilities maintained. You could use the toilets and hand basins but no soap, hand driers or paper towels all week. Finally, the last 3 days saw the lift out of order so we had to use some sort of service lift near the inside pool and struggle with the cleaners for the use of the lift. When we left it still hadn't been resolved. I have read that the hotel is a little tired, possibly. I tend to think it's a nice hotel in the wrong place.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the 3rd floor to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear swintonblue,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay at the San Pawl Hotel and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Food was great even for those that didn’t fancy anything. Extra meals available ( mainly for children) . Staff all very friendly. Staff had an argument in the middle of the dining room and hotel full of cockroaches. Pool area very child friendly and plenty of facilities. Entertainment not great. Overall enjoyed the holiday

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mildred rocks X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Mildred rocks x,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

We are pleased that you found the food to be great and the staff friendly and that your enjoyed your stay.

The hotel does have a pest control programme but in hot places like Malta one tends to find cockroaches.

I do hope you will stay with us again should you re-visit Malta.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I was happy with the food, services and very good food. The food was really tasty with 3 different choices of meat and fish and variety of salads. There was interesting evening program each day with different type of music.We had a great time with my sisters, did a bit of dancing, and tasting local wine from the bar. Will come back in a year...

Room Tip: All fine, rooms a bit older, noisier around swimming pool, but overall a happy place.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank topten11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear topten11,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your enjoyed your stay at the San Pawl Hotel.

We are please that your sere happy with the service and the food as well as the evening entertainment and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards
Carol burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Didn’t expect a lot and got even less. Not great location room ok food all tastes the same rest of areas very tired. Malta was lovely but wouldn’t stay in St Paul’s Bay again
Asked Reception if the could call a taxi and was charged 5euros for booking it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpawlhotel, General Manager at San Pawl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Debbie C,

It is a pity that you did not like St. Paul's Bay.

The Euro 5.00 charged for the taxi is a deposit. Clients are advised about this and that the balance is paid directly to the taxi driver.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews