We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
US$345
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolmen Hotel Malta(St. Paul's Bay)
US$206
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Porto Azzurro(St. Paul's Bay)
US$106
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
US$160
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$110
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
US$189
US$177
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$288
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
29
35
22
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
35
22
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stopbudget apartmentone bedroom apartmentfridge freezergreat positionair conditioningfresh fruitpay extraguesthousebalconyislandmaltataxiscookerbathfidryer
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed a Porto del Sol in September. The place was as we expected without any major problems. The kitchen stool was a little bit old and the fridge as well, but the rest of the room was in a good condition. The highlight of the room was the balcony with a great view of the sea, perfect for open air breakfast. If you’re just looking for a place to sleep for a fair price, than this is the place for you. The bus stop is just downstairs, so you can reach every location on the island very quickly. At night the room can be noise, because the guesthouse is next to the main road. All in all we had a great time at Porto del Sol.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Porto Del Sol is a nice guest with beautiful sea views and a very good restaurant. The atmosphere is nice and cosy . The food is excellent and a very good service and the prices are good. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migmar2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & the meals at Porto Del Sol.

Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Living in Mellieha I passed this restaurant nearly every day on my way home, lately I noticed that they were renovating the restaurant, I thought why not go and see what they were up to as I had not been there for at least five years, I had fond memories of nice dinners with friends at Porto del Sol, on going back, the restaurant has been re decorated, it looks fresh, welcoming, and better still a new menu that I discovered was designed by their new young chef, which promised to be a interesting evening.
We were shown to our table, very quick and attentive service without being obtrusive. We ordered smoked salmon starter with avocado, beetroot, yogurt and quinoa, and for seconds I had grilled salmon with octopus and lentil cassoulet while my partner ordered sea bass fillet with haricots vert, while waiting we were served a oven grilled bruschetta with the most delicious whipped ricotta with cherry tomatoes and micro herbs perfect start, and already the chef is showing promise, our starter was out of this world, interesting complex and delicious, our seconds were just as good, perfectly cooked fish and great lentils and octopus, which really worked well together. The sea bass was also very good with crisp haricot vert. I could not manage dessert so we shared a torta della nonna definitely not to to be missed, all these wonderful dishes is going to make this a definite stop on my way home.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank henryborgbarthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review and for your positive comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable evening and that you were impressed with the food and the new look. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Porto Del Sol in the near future.

Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

I had a nice studio with little pentry. The room was ok and the best wiev from balcony ever possible. Problem was that you could only take a short shower and no bath. Water heatener was small or weak. Beds were not comfortable but i slept well anyway. There is also a lot of trafficnoise beacause the street is the main street to Cirkewwa ferries and has heavy traffic. Bus stop with busses all over island and to Mellieha beach just opposite hotel and a foodstore 50 meter away. There is also pizzeria, cafe nearby and fresh fruit and vegetable market close by.

Room Tip: best are rooms on 4th floor for best wiev and all rooms have seawiev.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaux11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked your room and will take note of your comments and improvement suggestions.

Bets regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We dropped into their restaurant, which was near our hotel and had the day's menu. The ambience was excellent with crisp linen and very attentive service. The food was great, including a small salad bruschetta to start, wonderful fish and good local wine. All for a modest price,

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant, food and service above it's pay grade
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, Public Relations Manager at Porto del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review. Your positive feedback is much appreciated.

Best regards,
THe management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews