We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly fantastic with Sicilian hospitality at its...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Mare Dentro

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
a look from the terrace
view on the harbour below
living
lunch corner... at the table!
kitchenette
kitchenette
from the balcony...
a romantic dream
the dream is romantic
luxury bathroom
luxury bathroom
second bedroom
second bedroom
second bathroom
welcome to my house
the square, old courtyard, and the castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
simon h
1 review
“Truly fantastic with Sicilian hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I had driven past Castellammare Del Golfo many years ago on a previous visit to Southern Sicily and had always been very intrigued by its appearance so I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay there. Il Mare Dentro is located right in the heart of the old town in the Arab-Norman Castle complex that juts out into the sea. It has spectacular views from two balconies over the surrounding countryside and the harbour, just above where the local fishing boats offload their daily catch.

The approach to the property is through narrow cobbled streets past the 17th Century Baroque Mother Church and over a tiny narrow bridge where the smaller Church of Rosario is only a few steps from the property’s entrance. This all gives a real sense of the history of the town.

Practically, the house offered everything we needed. It was spotless on arrival. Facilities included air-conditioning and ceiling fans if you prefer a gentler way of keeping cool. The Wifi worked well and the kitchen was well equipped. We seemed to spend most of the time outside on its adjoining balcony watching the results of the morning catch at breakfast and the ‘Passeggiata’ later in the day. Spending some of our evenings dining by candlelight on the large balcony was a joy.

Within easy walking distance from the property are a local market selling all manner of local produce with a number of small shops offering most of what you might need, and there are plenty of supermarkets in the newer part of town easily reached by car. Bars and restaurants of all varieties are found along the harbour and scattered around the town and along the pedestrianized Corso Garabaldi.

The town has plenty of surrounding places to visit. We enjoyed the nearby beach at Guidaloca and stopping off on the way back for an ice cream at the panoramic area with amazing views over the town towards Punta Raisa. Just past Guidaloca is Scopello and the Tonnara (old tuna factory) and then on to Zingaro, Sicily’s first nature reserve. You can also hire your own boat from the harbour and explore the coast yourselves. Segesta with its ancient Greek Temple is less than 30 minutes drive away and we also ventured in land to nearby Alcamo and it’s medieval castle.

What completely made this one of our best holidays ever though was our host Marco. He made the initial booking process very straightforward and even met us on the outskirts of town to guide us to the property. He provided us with a wealth of local knowledge and instantly put us at ease. He couldn’t have been more helpful, and his absolute understanding of our needs as visitors meant that on our first day, after no sleep the night before, we moved smoothly into the holiday rhythm with minimal hassle. He offered us an experience of the famed ‘Sicilian Hospitality’ that we will carry with us from this Jewel of the Mediterranean Sea. Thank You Marco - and ‘Mama di Marco’ too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dave_Elea...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment in a great location - Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I totally agree with all the previous excellent reports. The apartment is lovely - even better decorated and furnished than the pictures show. We were very pleased that we had chosen to stay there. The location is amazing, with magnificent views from the balcony over the harbour to the mountains beyond. In addition to the fishermen unloading and selling their catch on the quayside every day, we particular enjoyed watching the weekend wedding parties having their photos taken! There are many excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance of the apartment, and it is also very well placed to reach many splendid sites in NW Sicily. And above all this is Marco's amazing kindness and friendliness. After meeting us when we arrived, he spent a long time showing us around, telling us about the best places to eat and visit, and answering all our questions. The range and quality of food and drink which he provided for us, courtesy of his mother and father, was beyond compare and hugely appreciated. And it was lovely to meet Marco's mother as well at the end of our stay. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the apartment, and can honesty say that we now think of Marco as a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwiWande...
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect position, great accommodation and such amazing hospitality!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place to stay! I read reviews before booking and these were spot on.The location is just superb. My husband spent many hours on the balcony entertained by the activity below with fishermen selling their catch and boats bobbing in the harbour. It is just a very short walk to the harbour down a flight of ancient stairs. The accommodation was very comfy, spacious and super clean. Free Wifi was consistent and very much appreciated. And the view from the kitchen as we prepared meals, wow! An excellent location to base yourself at with many great places such as Segetsa, Erice and Scopello nearby for day trips. And Palermo airport only a short drive away as well. A must for us was the Tonnara di Scopello, about 20 minutes away. What a stunning setting to enjoy the sun and swim, a little slice of paradise and highly recommended. We spent a couple of days there it was so good. But a word of warning, do use the carpark rather than park on the side of the road. We managed to get a parking fine. A big thank you to Marco for helping us sort how to pay it, we really did appreciate his help. But by far the most amazing thing about our stay was the wonderful hospitality. Marco was ever so helpful, we honestly couldn't thank him enough. And there was a great supply of food left for us plus his mother had prepared a very yummy pasta dish for our dinner, so unexpected along with the delicious home made Limocello. I am so glad we chose this option and highly recommend to anyone going to Sicily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, location, accommodation...everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Castellamarco”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This review is by way of thanking our wonderful host Marco after our stay at his superbly located property overlooking the beautiful harbour of Castellamare del Golfo. Marco could not be more helpful or accomadating, from the moment he met us on arrival from Palermo airport and brought us to his house in the castle yard above the harbour. Waiting for us was not only a beautiful house laid out over three floors, but an array of complimentary food and drink (his mama's pasta al forno and seafood couscous were some ot he best food we had all week) including some of his uncles limoncello, which was enjoyed at lenght on the balcony at night. We would highly recommend this property for its location, its comfort and it's host. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing