We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
First time w/wife, but will return quarterly

We stopped here en rt to Kerrville and Fredericksburg for R&R. We visited on Thursday and met... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2018
cowgirl509
,
Georgetown, Texas
Enjoyable and Informative Wine Tasting

Fun visit to a spacious tasting room conveniently located on Main St in Johnson City. They offer a... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
Rich H
,
Treasure Island, Florida
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine club texas wines wine tasting tasting room allison warren fredericksburg
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

They're not a winery but have LOTS to choose from. Staff is all super friendly and the day we visited there were 15 wines opened for tasting (only get 5 but 15 to choose from).
Wife and I enjoyed ourselves, we'll definitely go back.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 694clift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Warren was very accommodating. Introduced us to some local wines. He signed a few 290 bottles. Grab yourself a "caught red handed" and "little white lies"

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank onisat2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We were in Johnson City for the weekend and wanted to stop for an evening glass of wine. This winery was half a mile from where we were staying. It is large inside and there is a large, very pretty outdoor space as well. Inside is it modern and decorated with beautiful artwork from local Texas artists. The owners are very welcoming and warm. The manager is very knowledgeable about their wines andcthey provide free samples. We had a lovely glass of wine with a beautiful fruit, cheese and chocolate platter.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Love this place! The folks at Texcetera recommended this place and we are so glad that they did. Very laid back atmosphere for wine tasting. They carry Texas wines that you won't find in Fredericksburg, along with wines from all over the country. They have a red flight, white flight, and a sweet flight. The flights are rotating, which means that you could visit again and all of the flights would be different. They change the wine in the flights up, which is fantastic! You won't have to fight the crowds of Fredericksburg, either. We really enjoyed our day here. We sat and chatted with the owner, who is so interesting and knowledgeable...on ALL subjects. He designed and built the building himself. It has a wonderful industrial feel and houses art from local artists. Has a great outdoor patio with horseshoes, etc. This is a great place to come hangout with friends. There are 6 pours per flight and the pours are very generous. They are very flexible, basically letting you design your own flight. We can't wait to visit again and again. They are currently growing their own vines and in stages to produce their first wine. This place is a hidden gem!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Justmegloryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Well, it's spring in Texas and time to hit the Texas wine trails.
Just google Texas wine trails and just do it!

Hwy. 290 is a major artery of the wine trails.
Several wineries can be stopped at along the way.

290 finery is open now.
Inside Johnson city.

Vines are planted and they are operating a tasting room facility for Texas and other wines.

$15 for six wines .....

The selection is rotated and the facility is bright and clean & airy.

They sell wines from Texas with several you will want to taste and as I did buy!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Okhobieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews