We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
159
107
23
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
107
23
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel lovely hotel great location hotel restaurant seafood two nights star hotel your luggage cakes nice room fishing boats next morning first floor bollards cathedral piazza parking
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Communicating to reserve a room was easy thanks to the excellent English skills of the staff. Also true upon arrival when you must call the front desk to have them lower the bollards, to access the hotel for unloading (then park in the public lot just outside the piazza, 4Euros/half day so 8 to cover the afternoon and the next morning). Nice room, we had a quad with 2 single beds and a large double, overlooking the apse of the cathedral and the jetty. Good breakfast with eggs made to order if you want. Wifi was good. Probably one of the more expensive but better places to stay in Trani.

One thing that was a bit difficult, our U.S. iPhones (T-Mobile) had trouble getting a signal for navigating via Google Maps within Trani, so upon leaving the hotel we were driving without firm direction. Eventually by driving out towards the main highway we were able to get a signal. Even so we had to stop for directions before then.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NWtraveler969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The Regia may be only a small hotel, but the service and setting is outstanding. Our room (12) was reasonably modern but could do with some updating - the hotel will be renovated during the winter. However, the balcony made a huge impression, facing directly across to the cathedral - literally only a stone's throw away! We would happily return to this room

The whole hotel setting within a pedestrian precinct on the seafront is beautiful.

The sense of privileged arrival was emphasised as our taxi driver first negotiated his way through bandsmen getting ready for a festa procession from the Cathedral, then called the hotel to remotely lower the bollards bounding the precinct. Shortly after we had got to our room, the procession passed by, followed by 20 minutes of of the loudest fireworks I have ever heard. My wife is from Malta (festa fireworks a tradition) but even she was deafened!

Staff were all really helpful. Cheerful attitudes and assistance always. Whilst the hotel does not currently have room safes, they operate a relatively fuss-free safe deposit system for those items you do not wish to carry around.

Whilst the hotel is set in a quiet location in the cathedral precinct, the main seafront esplanade is only a few yards from the hotel. Fishing boats sit alongside and seafood restaurants stretch in a sweep around the harbour. And there are a lot of them! I'll give no recommendations as regards the restaurants, take your pick and enjoy. Do also try out the restaurants/bistros further back from the front - all worth a wander.

Although we did not have lunch/dinner in the hotel (so many restaurants in Trani!) we enjoyed the breakfast. A good choice of fresh fruit - especially strawberries - coupled with cereals/pastries etc. Plus of course Italian coffee etc. All served in a really pleasant room opening out onto a terrace with further tables. Cosy and relaxed to fit the hotel.

If you like ice-cream don't forget to stroll around the bay to La Scimmietta - around 60 different options, plus wide range of cakes!

La Scimmietta is situated close to the entrance to the Villa Communale which is a large park bordering the sea, and which is complete with lots of paths for strolling complete with seats, viewing points,plus a promenade. Especially popular amongst the locals on a Sunday.

Beyond the park you can stroll further along the water's edge to find small shingle beaches to sunbather paddle etc.

Trani itself has a great deal to offer, with its medieval streets leading you up to the main shopping areas. The real bonus is that you can stroll off any main street into narrower streets and piazzas to find small shops offering local produce and arts & crafts- and of course there are more restaurants! Go there and enjoy the experience.

One other tip. If you fancy an alternative to normal Italian beer, try the Tortuga 'pub' tucked in between the seafront restaurants. It actually serves some very acceptable real ales brewed in Italy!

One last comment on the staff. On the last night of the holiday I was checking on flight/airport details (free wifi was very good by the way) to be confronted by a web message warning that the forthcoming G7 meeting meant that Italian airport security would be tightened with delays to travellers - starting the following morning! I rang Marianna on Reception to ask if it was too late to change the taxi pick up time from 9am to 8.30am to give more time for potential problems. Although it was then 10.30pm, Marianna said she'd sort something out. At 8.20 next morning the receptionist on duty that morning informed us that our taxi was on its way. At 8.30 in breezed Marianna announcing she would be our taxi driver to Bari, having decided to manage the problem herself! A classical 'nothing too much trouble' approach.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SouthseaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with views of the fort and cathedral. Short walk to either port or town centre.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
Breakfast had a good selection on the buffet.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debbiedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This is our second visit to this Hotel and were pleased that the hotel had not deteriorated in any way. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The reason we dropped it from excellent is that parking was more complicated on this trip and access to pick up luggage was not easy. There is free parking not very far from the hotel but you need guidance from the staff. Breakfast was good and we sat outside under an umbrella overlooking the sites.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Montclairite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My wife and I spent a night at the Regia hotel at the end of March 2017. It was a very nice experience. The first thing to note is that this hotel enjoys a unique location. It is in a pedestrian area just on the side of the Romanic Trani cathedral (the most important sight in the town). The whole pedestrian area is extremely nice and leads to the fishing harbour and the most ancient part of the town. The pedestrian area has been extensively renovated not long ago and – off season and in the evening - offers an almost magic atmosphere.

The Regia hotel is better known as a restaurant, but the hotel is also very nice. Access to the pedestrian area is blocked by rising bollards, but they can let you have access to unload and load your luggage. However, you will then have to park outside the restricted area. Al the rooms are on the first floor (second for the North Americans). We were given room 26 with a nice view on the harbour, the sea and the apse of the cathedral. The room was nice and spacious. The bed was fine and, generally, the room had everything you might have expected. However, there was no safe, something that is now taken for granted in all hotels of the category of the Regia. More surprising, there was no lamp on the working desk. The Wi-Fi connection was not great but sufficient. The bathroom was OK, but a refreshment will be needed sooner or later.
Breakfast was served on the ground floor in a nice room, with plenty of light. The choice of food was more than adequate. Unfortunately, we were there on night from Monday to Tuesday when the restaurant is closed. The restaurant is supposed to be very good. While we were at the reception some people came to book tables in parson. The hotel offers a special price that includes also the dinner. Overall, the price/quality relationship is good. Hopefully the two “areas for improvement” I mentioned will be addressed soon. We were sorry our holiday plans were too rigid to allow us to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews