We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little River Canyon National Preserve
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
361
100
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
100
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic drive little river canyon visitor center mushroom rock east of the mississippi scenic overlooks breathtaking views natural beauty middle of the road love nature beautiful place to visit hiking trails wolf creek beautiful area fall colors day trip picnic tables
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! Little did we know that this place existed in North East Alabama! Recommend to start at the visitor center and take the the 3 mile hike to Little river falls ! Spectacular falls! The amount of water flowing depends on the season! The 11 mile drive is great also with a few hikes down to the river as well as on top!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ELFDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit and see the falls and the overlooks are nice too. The hawk gliding overlook we actually seen a hawk flying.
It was neat. Definitely be back again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank melissaa481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We came for the drive and the canyon views, and the informational signs, as well as a ranger at one of the spots, made our visit to Little River Canyon especially enjoyable. If you're fit and up for a challenge, take one of the trails that descends to the river at the bottom of the canyon. Loved the mushroom rock left in the middle of the road.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

I found this gem while on a day trip from my vacation. I really only came to view the falls, completely unaware of the full scope of this area. WOW!!! The overlooks, the falls (both Little River and Graces High), the boulder field...everything was absolutely incredible!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank stacymh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Over Easter weekend, while driving thru northeastern Alabama on Highway 35, just south of the small town of Fort Payne, we passed a park sign for some waterfalls near a bridge. I did a U-turn after the bridge and pulled into a parking lot. You could really hear the sound of the waterfalls roaring due to lots of recent rain in the area. There's a short boardwalk that leads from the parking lot to a platform overlooking the river and falls. Very beautiful view and spectacular waterfalls. So glad we found this location by chance.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank BeGlobalLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews