We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Soundview Cottage

Sunset from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from the deck
The king-size bed is famously comfortable, and the nautical decor reflects the water view. Totally private cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Sunset from the deck
The king-size bed is famously comfortable, and the nautical decor reflects the water view.
Totally private cottage
Eating Area
Private entrance, close to off-street parking
The view from the private deck is amazing.
New hot tub - ready any time of the year!
Spring flowers
The view from the deck
iPod Dock/Player
Complete kitchen
A small wedding on the deck
Guests say the cottage is like a private treehouse.
The comfy new sleeper sofa sleeps two extra guests.
The new washer and dryer are convenient for guests.
Complete kitchen lets you cook any meals you want, whenever you like.  Breakfast foods are included.
Off-road parking and a separate entrance
The garden is lush any time of year.
the new sleeper sofa sleeps two additional guests
Soundview is gay-friendly and peace-loving
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Seattle, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ndukesoun...
Georgia
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 12 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009

I spent my honeymoon at the Soundview bed and breakfast and was not let down. The view of the sound is beyond pictures. This is a wonderful cozy little place and I highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annesmom
FL
1 review
“Home Away-from-Home”
Reviewed 19 December 2009 for a stay in November 2009

We recently stayed at Sound View Bed and Breakfast. The name doesn’t do it justice. It is better described as a gorgeous view of the sound. The Innkeeper, Annie Phillips, did everything she could to make us feel welcome. It is a perfect get away for a few days, or for those staying longer who like the feel of a home away-from-home. We enjoyed our week in Seattle, especially waking up to a view of the sound and returning after a busy day to our cozy cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acubillo
Sacramento, CA
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing, cozy!”
Reviewed 25 November 2009 for a stay in November 2009

This was our first visit to a Bed and Breakfast type of establishment. The Soundview Cottage B&B was well equipped and very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the view of Puget Sound, the trees, the privacy and just relaxing. We are finally getting to the age where we need to relax more and do fewer tourist type of functions. However we still enjoy our day trips. The cottage is located South of downtown Seattle (West of Sea-Tac Airport) and well positioned for EZ visits to downtown.

The main entry brings you into a compact, functional kitchen followed by a dining area and the main living area. The views are very nice and can be enjoyed from the kitchen, dining and living areas. The bedroom does not share the main view of the Sound, although it does have a nice woodsy view. The sofa in the living room is also a sleeper if you want to wake up to a view of the Sound. The decor is comfortable and we felt right at home. There is a small CD Player/FM Radio, a TV and DVD player and plenty of books. One of the features is the hot tub on the deck, but we did not use it.

The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. We slept very well. There was a storm early one morning and we enjoyed watching the waves on the Sound and having breakfast. Annie, our host, provided a number of goodies and treats. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. We will return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2009
I appreciate the glowing review - I enjoyed these guests very much. But one of the photos Gus posted may give the impression that the cottage is on the beach. It's not: it's on a bluff overlooking the Sound. My property doesn't have direct access to the beach, but guests can walk on the beach at low tide, accessing it from the public access point about half a mile away. Just wanted to clarify.
Thanks!
Annie Phillips, Soundview owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonSeattl...
Seattle, WA
1 review
“The Soundview Cottage is one of my favorite places in the world!”
Reviewed 30 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009

This has to be one of those most romantic, relaxing, and rejuvenating places in the world! My wife and I have stayed there three times now - one of those times I actually proposed to her there, right on the deck overlooking the water at sunset :-) We had enjoyed our stay so much the first time that I knew it would be the perfect place to pop the question, and she loved it!

The hot tub overlooking Puget Sound is amazing, and inside you've got a cozy little cottage all to yourself. The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials you need for your own private breakfast, which was perfect for us because we like to sleep in and didn't want to eat with a bunch of strangers like at regular B&B's. There's also a good selection of movies you can watch with your loved one if you want a quiet night in, or you can sit out on the deck and read a book in the serene outdoors. Oh, and the bed is heavenly!

Annie the innkeeper is so sweet, and she makes the whole experience completely wonderful. I'm sure my wife and I will be coming back to the Soundview Cottage for years and years to come!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sche0547
Mpls, MN
1 review
“Nice 1B cottage view a view, breakfast, and a very kind innkeeper”
Reviewed 20 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009

We often stay in small cottages or houses for the benefit of a kitchen. This was the best stocked cottage we've ever stayed in, and Annie was very kind to cater to our food sensitivities in what she stocked (not to mention the fresh strawberries that showed up on day 3). She has well-organized information on local restaurants (complete with maps) and local attractions and helped us find the best way into the city without our car (light rail). Other perks: very comfortable bed and pillows (the best we've had at one of these places) and a respectable bookshelf (I'm used to seeing bad novels straight from goodwill; she had great nonfiction). In addition, the view is beautiful and this is extremely close to the airport (3 miles?), grocery store (2 miles), and lots of restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing